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OHIO PEACE OFFICER TRAINING COMMISSION (AGO) 

General information (AGO) 
 

Duties 

To fulfill its statutory responsibility and improve law enforcement training in Ohio, the commission may recommend to the Attorney General: 

-Rules for approving peace officer, private security, corrections, public defender investigator, bailiff, canine and firearms training and 
certification. 

-The curriculum, minimum attendance, equipment and facility requirements necessary for approval of training programs. 

-Minimum qualifications required for instructors at approved sites.  

-Categories or classifications of advanced in-service training programs for peace officers. 

-Minimum requirements for the certification of canines used by law enforcement agencies. 

The commission is also authorized to: 

-Recommend studies, surveys, and reports designed to evaluate its own effectiveness. 

-Visit and inspect any peace officer training school with the state. 

-Establish fees for the services the commission provides. 

-Make recommendations to the Attorney General or the General Assembly with respect to the fulfillment of its statutory responsibilities. 

-Report progress to the Attorney General throughout the year and to the governor and the General Assembly annually. 
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Membership (Current members, chairperson and other officers, and selection process.) 

Vernon P. Stanforth, Chairperson – Sheriff Fayette County, Washington Court House, Ohio. 

Clayton A. Harris, Vice-Chair – Chief Cuyahoga Community College Police Department, Cleveland, Ohio. 

Leah Amstutz – Ohio Department of Education, Richwood, Ohio 

Wynette Carter-Smith – Representative of the Public, Springboro, Ohio 

Richard Fambro – Superintendent, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Columbus, Ohio 

James J. Fitsko – Lt, Representative of a Law Enforcement Fraternal Organization, Marion Police Department, Marion, Ohio 

Michael Heldman, Sheriff – Sheriff, Hancock County, Findlay, Ohio. 

George R. Kral – Chief, Toledo Police Department, Toledo, Ohio 

Carol O’Brien – Representative of Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation, Columbus, Ohio  

Eric Smith – Special Agent in Charge, FBI, Cleveland, Ohio 

Members: The Commission Members are selected by the Governor of Ohio to 3-year terms. At the end of their 3-year term, the member can 
apply for reappointment. The decision is the Governor’s if they are reappointed.  

Chair and Vice-Chair Positions: Each November the House Committee meets prior to the full Commission meeting to discuss and make 
recommendations for the position of Chair, Vice-Chair and the meeting dates for the upcoming year. They then make those recommendations 
during the Commission meeting, where it is discussed. At that time anyone on the commission may express an interest to be considered. A 
motion is made, seconded and voted on by the commission. Any member who is being considered abstains from the vote. The motion passes 
by vote. 
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Budget (Current budget, description of budgeting process, sources of funding, and expected increases or decreases in budget or funding in 
future years.) 

ORC 109.73(C)(5) provides a provision for the Commission to establish fees for services the commission offers under 109.71 to 109.79, 
including, but not limited, to fees for training, certification, and testing. If the commission accepts a fee structure this could increase funding 
for continued operations. 

 

Workload (Assess current, past, and anticipated workload. Has the workload increased or decreased significantly in the preceding six years?) 

Workload has increased for OPOTC staff supporting the OPOTC. Administrative oversight, documentation of academy applications, 
inspections, student enrollment, curriculum review and revisions, and testing have all increased as enrollments increase. Potential increase in 
enforcement oversight will increase the demand for staff to conduct established objectives. 

 

Staffing (How many staff are currently employed by the board? What are their roles? Are staffing levels proportionate to the board’s current 
and anticipated workload?) 

Staff assigned under the commission side include: one Director of Professional Standards and Education; one administrative assistant; four 
certification officers (administrative review of submitted academy, instructor, commander certifications); five compliance officers (perform 
field inspections of approved academies); four administrative professionals (provide clerical support to certification); three (one vacant 
position) curriculum design specialists (review, revise, design, develop basic training curriculum for the following: basic peace officer, basic 
corrections, basic private security; humane agent, peace officer refresher); two administrative professionals (assist curriculum design, address 
CCW data compilation, assist state certification exam administration); one state certification exam coordinator. Total 21 staff assigned under 
the commission side. 
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Administrative hearings and public complaints (Describe the Board’s processes for administering discipline and addressing complaints. Assess 
the efficiency of the processes.)  

Administrative hearings are conducted as provided in ORC section 119.01 to 119.13. 

Public complaints are addressed individually. Ohio Administrative Code section 109:2-1 through 109:2-18 contain language regarding 
administrative action related to individual and school certification 

 

Peace officer certification 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

OAC 109:2-1-03 identifies who is required to complete the approved basic course to be eligible to participate in the state certification exam 
OAC 109:2-1-11) for peace officer certification. 

ORC 109.77 requires a certificate of completion of a basic training program to be necessary for appointment as a peace officer in Ohio. 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 1,340 

Number renewed annually 2019: 372 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Yearly number of certificates issued annually has been consistent since 2016 

Education or training requirements Those persons set out in division (A) of ORC 109.71 are required to complete a basic training 
program; OAC 109:2-1-03 

Experience requirements Not applicable 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

OAC 109:2-1-11 – The Ohio peace officer training commission will prepare, conduct and score a 
final examination for each person completing the basic course. 

No fees are currently assessed to participate in the state certification exam. In 2021, students 
participating in the state certification exam will pay a fee of $95 to the approved testing center. 
The testing center will remunerate $40 of this fee to the commission. The received funds will 
provide for services the commission offers under sections 109.71 to 109.79 of the Revised Code. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

OAC 109:2-18-01 addresses continuing professional training requirements for peace officers and 
troopers.  

109:2-1-02 identifies when this requirement is mandated. The commission shall set the required 
minimum of hours based on the availability of funding for reimbursement. If no funding is 
available for reimbursement, continuous professional training shall not be required for the 
year(s) in which sufficient funding was not available. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  OAC 109:2-1-12 addresses specifics to certification before service and breaks in service re-entry. 
If a peace officer is not appointed with an agency for more than four years, the person must 
successfully complete an entire basic training program. If the break in service is more than one 
year but less than four years, the person must complete a peace officer refresher course within 
one year of receiving an appointment with an agency. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

The commission does provide an avenue for limited reciprocity under OAC 109:2-1-12(B).  

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-1 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fees are assessed for this program. 
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

No 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Reduce “harm” by certifying individuals to perform the function after successful completion of identified training requirements. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 
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Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

The office is working to develop a proposal to increase regulatory oversight of certified individuals, including additional language related to 
acceptable standards of conduct. 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Ohio is consistent, overall, with other states regulation of occupation. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Peace Officer 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – Ohio Peace 
Officer Training 
Commission 
(OPOTC) 
certification (R.C. 
109.75, 109.77, 
109.803, and 

Yes – certification 
by the Indiana 
Law Enforcement 
Training Board 
(ILETB) (Ind. Code 
Ann. 5-2-19; 250 
Ind. Admin. Code 

Yes – Kentucky 
Law Enforcement 
Council (KLEC) 
peace officer 
certification (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. 
15.380, 15.382, 

Yes – Michigan 
Commission on 
Law Enforcement 
Standards 
(MCOLES) 
certification 
(Mich. Comp. 

Yes – certification 
by the Municipal 
Police Officers 
Education and 
Training 
Commission 
(MPOETC) (53 Pa. 

Yes – certification 
by the Law 
Enforcement 
Professional 
Standards 
Subcommittee of 
the Governor’s 
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Peace Officer 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

109.804; O.A.C. 
109:2-1-03, 109:2-
1-07, 109:2-1-10, 
109:2-1-11, 109:2-
1-12, 109:2-18-02, 
109:2-18-03, and 
109:2-18-04) 

2-2-1, 2-2-4, 2-3-
3, 2-7-1) 

and 15.404; 503 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
1:110, 1:120, and 
1:140) 

Laws 28.609, 
28.611; Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
28.14314, 
28.14315, 
28.14316; 
Michigan 
Commission on 
Law Enforcement 
Standards, 
Policies and 
Procedures 
Manual) 

Cons. Stat. 2164 
and 2167; 37 Pa. 
Code 203.11, 
203.13, and 
203.52) 

Committee on 
Crime, 
Delinquency, and 
Correction (LEPSS) 
(W. Va. Code Ann. 
30-29-03 to 30-
29-06; W. Va. 
Code R. 149-2-6, 
149-2-7, 149-2-10, 
149-2-11, 149-2-
13, 8-14-6, et seq., 
and 7-14-1, et 
seq.; also West 
Virginia 
Department of 
Military Affairs & 
Public Safety, 
Division of Justice 
& Community 
Services, 
Commonly Asked 
Questions) 

Education or 
training 

Basic training 
required 

High school and 
basic training 
required 

High school or 
GED and basic 
training required 

Basic training 
required 

Must meet 
specified 
qualifications 

Must meet 
minimum 
entry-level law 
enforcement 
qualification and 
training program 
requirements 
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Peace Officer 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(minimum of 850 
hours) 
promulgated 
(apparently by 
LEPSS) or approved 
equivalent training 

Experience No No No No None specified Unclear – none 
specified, but see 
above 

Exam Yes Yes No Yes Yes Yes – also express 
mandate for 
municipal police 
and for deputy 
sheriffs 

Continuing 
education 

Yes – up to 24 
hours per year 
required, based 
on funding 

Yes – 24 hours per 
year required 

Yes – 40 hours per 
year required 

In-service training 
available but not 
required 

Yes – mandatory 
in-service training 
consisting of 
continuous 
in-service 
requirements and 
academic 
in-service 
requirements 

Hours not 
specified for 
continuous 
in-service 

Yes, in-service 
approved 
law-enforcement 
training program  

16 hours needed; 
if supervisor, 
additional eight 
hours also needed 

Frequency of 
reporting 
generally is one 
year, but is two 
years if officer has 
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Peace Officer 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

training; at least 
12 hours of 
annual academic 
training 

achieved exempt 
rank 

Professional 
responsibility or 
ethics expressly 
required – no 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified None specified None specified  Established by 
MCOLES, but 
amount not 
readily attainable 

None specified Not set by statute 
or rule – 
apparently 
training entity 
decides whether 
to charge fee and 
amount 

West Virginia 
State Police 
Academy sets its 
fees 

But special $12 
court cost and 
bond add-ons 
charged in 
criminal cases, 
money collected 
put in special 
state fund, and 
fund used for 
funding of law 
enforcement 
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Peace Officer 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

entry level 
training programs, 
professional 
development 
programs, and 
certification of 
law enforcement 
officers 

License duration Not specified Not specified Not specified Not specified Two years; 
renewal only to 
police officers 
who satisfy 
mandatory 
in-service training 
requirements 

One year – annual 
review of 
certification  

Renewal fee None specified None specified None specified None specified None specified Unclear – see 
initial licensure 
fee, above 
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Commander of peace officer training school certification 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Commander means the director or other head of a peace officer training school. 

OAC 109:2-1-02 (B) 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 13 

Number renewed annually Renewal period is every five years, depending on when certificate issued. OAC 109:2-1-05(C) 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant changes 

Education or training requirements Requirements identified in OAC 109:2-1-05 

Experience requirements Requirements identified in OAC 109:2-1-05. Minimum 7 years full-time law enforcement 
experience plus additional requirements 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

No exam required for certification. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

At least 24 hours of training relevant to conducting and overseeing a peace officer basic training 
academy. OAC 109:2-1-05(C)(1-2) 

Initial fee No applicable 

Duration  Five years, subject to meeting requirements. OAC 109:2-1-05(D) 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Not applicable 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes. OAC 109:2-1-05 (D) 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-1 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Not applicable. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

No. 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Prevents unqualified persons from delivering peace officer training. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Implement fee schedule applicable to function and processing of applications, oversight. 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Not applicable. 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Commander of Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
109.75; O.A.C. 
109:2-1-05) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule  

Yes – KLEC 
certification (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. 
15.360 and 
15.370; 503 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
1:100) 

None specified; 
training director 
appointed by 
Training School 
Administrator 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 28.221; 
Mich. Admin. 
Code R. 14302 to 
14306; Michigan 
Commission on 
Law Enforcement 
Standards, 
Policies and 
Procedures 
Manual) 

Yes – approval by 
MPOETC (53 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 2164; 
37 Pa. Code 
203.37) 

Yes – approval by 
LEPSS (W. Va. 
Code R. 149-2-4) 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED and 90 
quarter hours at 
college or 
university 

N/A High school or 
GED and 
instructors’ 
course required 

None specified; 
qualifications 
determined by 
basic law 
enforcement 
training academy  

Possess an 
associate’s or 
higher degree in 
criminal justice, 
public 
administration, 
education, or 
related field or be 
a graduate of one 
of the following:  

Assessed in 
determining 
approval, but 
details not 
specified 
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Commander of Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

1. The FBI 
National 
Academy; 

2. The Southern 
Police 
Institute 
Administration 
Officers 
Course; 

3. The 
Northwestern 
University 
Staff and 
Command 
School; or 

4. Other law 
enforcement 
training 
program 
approved by 
MPOETC 

Experience Seven years law 
enforcement 
experience 

N/A Three years law 
enforcement 
experience or 
experience in the 
subject matter to 
be taught 
required 

None specified Ten years in law 
enforcement, 
including five 
years at an 
administrative 
level or 15 years 
increasingly 

Assessed in 
determining 
approval, but 
details not 
specified 
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Commander of Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

responsible 
full-time 
experience as a 
federal, state, or 
municipal police 
officer with 
general police 
powers 

At least two years 
of experience as 
police or adult 
education 
instructor 

Exam Required N/A None specified None specified None specified None specified 

Continuing 
education 

24 hours every 
five years  

N/A Required None specified None specified None specified 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A No None specified None specified None specified 

License duration Five years N/A Five years None specified None specified None specified 

Renewal fee None specified N/A No None specified None specified None specified 
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Unit instructor of a peace officer training school certification 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

A person approved to present basic training curriculum in an OPOTC-approved basic peace officer academy. 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 307 

Number renewed annually Renewals required every three years pursuant to OAC 109:2-1-06(C)(1) 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Consistent from year to year. 

Education or training requirements Identified in OAC 109:2-1-06, HS grad or GED, completion of minimum 40 instructional skills 
training program, recommendation of current basic training school commander. 

Experience requirements Minimum of five years full-time law enforcement experience, 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

No exam required. Must submit OPOTC-approved application. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Minimum 24 hours of training in topics related to the basic training curriculum. OAC 109:2-1-
06(C)(1)(a) 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Certification valid for three years 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Within Ohio subject to instructor training program taught by the department of education, the 
state highway patrol, a college or educational institution or other programs which in the opinion 
of the executive director are equivalent to those set out. OAC 109:2-1-06(A)(3-4).  

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Yes. Pursuant to OAC 109:2-1-06(A)(3-4). 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes. Applicable to OAC 109:2-1 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-1 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fees assessed per application or renewal. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

No 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Having unapproved instructors providing instruction to potential Ohio peace officers. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Fee assessment for application and renewal. 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Consistent. 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Unit Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certificate (R.C. 
109.75; O.A.C. 
109:2-1-06) 

Yes – ILETB 
certification (Ind. 
Code Ann. 5-2-1-
12; 250 Ind. 
Admin. Code 2-10-
2(3), 2-10-5, and 
2-10-6) 

Yes – KLEC 
certification (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. 
15.360 and 
15.370; 503 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
1:100) 

Registration of 
instructors upon 
identification of 
qualifications by 
basic training 
academies; 
Commissioner of 
Public Safety 
appoints 
instructors at 
Michigan Training 
School (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
28.222; Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
28.14513; 
Michigan 
Commission on 
Law Enforcement 
Standards, 
Policies and 
Procedures 
Manual) 

Yes – no 
designation used, 
but certifications 
are approved by 
MPOETC and 
issued by the 
Executive Director 
(53 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2164; 37 Pa. Code 
203.72) 

Yes – no 
designation used, 
but certification 
for different types 
of instructors by 
LEPSS (W. Va. 
Code R. 149-2-5) 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED and 

High school or 
GED and 
associate’s degree 

High School or 
GED and 

Qualifications 
determined by 

For general 
instructor, must 
successfully 

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1, must 
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Unit Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

instructor training 
programs 

or more than 60 
hours of credit 
toward a 
bachelor’s degree  

instructors’ 
course required 

basic training 
academies 

complete 
MPOETC-
approved 
instructor 
development 
course, or possess 
a teaching 
certificate issued 
by Department of 
Education, or 
have full-time 
employment with 
academic rank at 
an accredited 
college or 
university  

have certification 
as law 
enforcement 
officer if 
applicable; high 
school diploma or 
equivalent; 
minimum of six 
hours of verified 
training in each 
academic subject 
area within the 
five years 
preceding the 
application for 
which 
certification is 
desired (with 
possible 
additional training 
required by 
LEPSS); 40 hours 
of instructor 
development 
training approved 
by the LEPSS  

For Firearms Level 
1, must satisfy 
qualifications 
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Unit Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

required for Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1; and 
complete law 
enforcement 
handgun firearms 
instructor school, 
of not less than 40 
hours, approved 
by LEPSS  

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 2 (instructor 
of instructors), 
must have current 
certification as 
law enforcement 
officer; high 
school diploma or 
equivalent; and 
successful 
completion of 
approved 
instructor/trainer 
course in the 
subject matter 
requested within 
previous five 
years 
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Unit Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience Five years of law 
enforcement 
experience 

Five years of law 
enforcement 
experience 

Three years law 
enforcement 
experience or 
experience in the 
subject matter to 
be taught  

None specified Five years police 
experience, or 
have an associate 
of arts degree and 
four years police 
experience, or 
have a Bachelor of 
Arts degree and 
three years police 
experience 

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1, must 
have three years 
of experience as 
police officer, 
including 
specified amount 
of direct work 
experience in the 
occupation or 
area in which 
certification is 
desired 

For Firearms Level 
1, must have 
experience in use, 
care, and 
maintenance of a 
firearm 

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 2, must 
have seven years’ 
experience as 
certified police 
officer; and four 
years’ experience 
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Unit Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

as Level 1 
instructor within 
the previous five 
years 

Exam No No No None specified None specified None specified 

Continuing 
education 

24 hours every 
three years 

Board approved 
instructor training 
course required 
every three years 

Required None specified Required For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1, eight 
hours needed 
every 24 months 

For Firearms Level 
1, four hours 
(possibly 12 
hours) needed 
every 24 months 

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 2, unclear, 
but probably 
required 

Professional 
responsibility or 
ethics expressly 
required – no 
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Unit Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified None specified None specified None specified None specified None specified 

License duration Three years Three years Five years None specified Two years Four years 

Renewal fee None specified None specified None specified None specified None specified None specified 

 

Special subject instructor of a peace officer training school certification 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Possession of a license in a particular discipline such as medical doctors, attorneys, nurses, judges, teachers of special subjects related to the 
basic course. OAC 109:2-1-06(B) 
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Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 43 

Number renewed annually Renewals required every three years pursuant to OAC 109:2-1-06(C)(1) 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant change. 

Education or training requirements Minimum 24 hours of training in topics related to the basic training curriculum. OAC 109:2-1-
06(C)(1)(a) 

Experience requirements Five years full-time experience and training in the subject area to be taught. OAC 109:2-1-
06(B)(1)(b) 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Minimum 24 clock hours of training in topics related to the basic training curriculum. OAC 109:2-
1-06(C)(a). 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Valid for three years 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Yes 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Yes, if applicable to license of respective field. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes. OAC 109:2-1-06€ 



Ohio Legislative Service Commission 994 Occupational Regulation 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-1 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fees assessed for administration of certification. 
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

No 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Having unapproved instructors providing instruction to potential Ohio peace officers.  

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. 
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Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Implement fee schedule to address administrative cost of processing applications/program. 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Consistent. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Special Subject Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certificate(R.C. 
109.75; O.A.C. 
109:2-1-06) 

Yes – ILETB 
certification (Ind. 
Code Ann. 5-2-1-
12; 250 Ind. 
Admin. Code 2-10-
2(4)) 

Yes – KLEC 
certification (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. 
15.360 and 
15.370; 503 Ky. 

Registration of 
instructors upon 
identification of 
qualifications by 
basic training 
academies; 

Yes – 
certifications are 
approved by 
MPOETC and 
issued by the 
Executive Director 

Yes – this 
designation not 
used, but 
certification for 
different types of 
instructors by 
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Special Subject Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Admin. Regs. 
1:100) 

Commissioner of 
Public Safety 
appoints 
instructors at 
Michigan Training 
School (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
28.222; Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
28.14513) 

(53 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2164; 37 Pa. Code 
203.72) 

LEPSS (W. Va. 
Code R. 149-2-5) 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED and 
professional 
license or 
competency in 
law enforcement 
related area 

High school or 
GED and 
bachelor’s degree 
or board-
approved 
equivalent 

High school or 
GED and 
instructors’ 
course required 

Qualifications 
determined by 
basic training 
academies 

For special 
instructor, 
applicant must 
provide 
documentation 
evidencing special 
requirements for 
each course: 

1. First aid and 
CPR – possess 
a current 
instructor 
certification 
issued by 
American Red 
Cross, 
American 
Heart 

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1, must 
have certification 
as law 
enforcement 
officer if 
applicable; high 
school diploma or 
equivalent; 
minimum of six 
hours of verified 
training in each 
academic subject 
area within the 
five years 
preceding the 
application for 
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Special Subject Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Association, 
Department 
of Health, or 
other agency-
approved by 
Department 
of Health 
(40-hour 
curriculum) 

2. Firearms – 
possess a 
current police 
firearms 
instructor 
rating from 
the National 
Rifle 
Association 
(NRA), the 
state police, 
the FBI, Smith 
and Wesson 
Academy, the 
Philadelphia 
Police 
Academy, 
United States 
Secret 
Service, or 

which 
certification is 
desired (with 
possible 
additional training 
required by 
LEPSS); 40 hours 
of instructor 
development 
training approved 
by the LEPSS  

For Firearms Level 
1, must satisfy 
qualifications 
required for Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1; and 
complete law 
enforcement 
handgun firearms 
instructor school, 
of not less than 40 
hours, approved 
by LEPSS  

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 2 (instructor 
of instructors), 
must have current 
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Special Subject Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

other 
certification 
approved by 
MPOETC 

3. Physical 
conditioning – 
provide 
documentation 
of successful 
completion of 
an instructor 
development 
course and 
training or 
education 
which 
evidences 
expertise as a 
physical 
conditioning 
instructor 

4. Application of 
force – 
provide 
documentation 
of successful 
completion of 
an instructor 
development 

certification as 
law enforcement 
officer; high 
school diploma or 
equivalent; and 
successful 
completion of 
approved 
instructor/trainer 
course in the 
subject matter 
requested within 
previous five 
years 
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Special Subject Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

course and 
training or 
education 
which 
evidences 
expertise as a 
defense 
tactics 
instructor 

5. Patrol vehicle 
operations – 
provide 
documentation 
of successful 
completion of 
an instructor 
development 
course and an 
instructor’s 
course in 
emergency 
vehicle 
operation or 
police driver 
proficiency 

Experience Competency as 
alternative to 
professional 

Seven years of 
law enforcement 
experience with 

Three years law 
enforcement 
experience or 

None specified Five years police 
experience, or 
have an 

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1, must 
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Special Subject Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

license must 
include three 
years of full-time 
experience 

two or more years 
of experience 
spent as 
instructor 

experience in the 
subject matter to 
be taught 
required 

associate’s degree 
and four years 
police experience, 
or have a 
bachelor’s degree 
and three years 
police experience 

have three years 
of experience as 
police officer, 
including 
specified amount 
of direct work 
experience in the 
occupation or 
area in which 
certification is 
desired 

For Firearms Level 
1, must have 
experience in use, 
care, and 
maintenance of a 
firearm 

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 2, must 
have seven years’ 
experience as 
certified police 
officer; and four 
years’ experience 
as Level 1 
instructor within 
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Special Subject Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

the previous five 
years 

Exam No No No None specified None specified None specified 

Continuing 
education 

24 hours every 
three years 

Not specified Required None specified Yes For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1, eight 
hours needed 
every 24 months 

For Firearms Level 
1, four hours 
(possibly 12 
hours) needed 
every 24 months 

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 2 (instructor 
of instructors), 
unclear, but 
probably required 

Professional 
responsibility or 
ethics expressly 
required – no 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified None specified None specified None specified None specified None specified 
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Special Subject Instructor of a Peace Officer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana 
Kentucky 

(Police Instructor) 
Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration Three years None specified Five years None specified Two years Four years 

Renewal fee None specified None specified None specified None specified None specified None specified 

 

Sheriff 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Sheriff or Qualified Candidate for Sheriff 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Peace officer 
certificate or 
alternative 
qualification (R.C. 
311.01; O.A.C. 
109:2-1-12) 

No certification 
required but 
permitted to 
attend sessions of 
a training school 
for sheriffs (Ind. 
Code Ann. 36-2-
13-9) 

No – expressly 
exempted from 
peace officer 
certification 
provisions, but 
may receive KLEC 
peace officer 
certification upon 
request (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 15.380, 
15.382, and 
15.404; 503 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
1:110, 1:120, and 
1:140) 

Sheriff’s license 
granted upon 
appointment or 
election and 
MCOLES review of 
executed oath of 
office (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
28.609a and 
28.611; Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
28.14314, 
28.14315, 
28.14316, 
28.14317, and 
28.14512) 

Yes – issued by 
Sheriff and 
Deputy Sheriff 
Education and 
Training Board 
(SDSETB) (71 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 2103, 
2104, 2105, and 
2106) 

No – expressly 
exempted from 
peace officer 
certification 
provisions and no 
specific provision 
applies  

But separate 
statutes authorize 
the West Virginia 
Sheriffs’ Bureau of 
Professional 
Standards to 
require and 
provide for sheriff 
training  
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Sheriff or Qualified Candidate for Sheriff 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(W. Va. Code Ann. 
7-26-4, 30-29-1, 
and 7-14-1) 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED; bachelor’s 
degree or 
alternative 
experience; and 
upon election, 
must complete 
basic training 
course 

None specified High school or 
GED and basic 
training required 

Basic training 
required 

Training for not 
less than 160 
hours 

None specified 

Experience Alternative 
qualification: if no 
peace officer 
certificate, recent 
employment by 
law enforcement 
agency; if no 
bachelor’s degree, 
supervisory law 
enforcement 
experience 

No No  No None specified None specified 

Exam No No No Yes None specified None specified 
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Sheriff or Qualified Candidate for Sheriff 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Continuing 
education 

16 hours per year None specified 40 hours per year  In-service training 
available but not 
required 

20 hours every 
two years 

None specified 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified None specified None specified  Permitted by 
MCOLES but 
amount not 
readily attainable 

None specified If license 
required, unclear 
if fee for licensee 
– but special $12 
court cost and 
bond add-ons 
charged in 
criminal cases, 
money collected 
put in special 
state fund, and 
fund used for 
funding of law 
enforcement 
entry level 
training programs, 
professional 
development 
programs, and 
certification of 
law enforcement 
officers 

License duration None specified None specified None specified  None specified 
but presumed 
duration is 

None specified None specified 



Ohio Legislative Service Commission 1006 Occupational Regulation 

Sheriff or Qualified Candidate for Sheriff 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

termination of 
tenure 

Renewal fee None specified None specified None specified None specified None specified Unclear – see 
initial licensure 
fee, above 

 

Firearms requalification program instructor certification 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

A person who instructs in law enforcement firearms requalification programs and who has been approved to do so by the executive director. 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 285 

Number renewed annually 2019: 776 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant changes. 

Education or training requirements Completion of a firearms instructor training course for each weapon instructor will be 
conducting a requalification program for 

OAC 109:2-13-04(B)(1) 

Experience requirements Completion of three years relevant law enforcement experience 

OAC 109:2-13-04(B)(2) 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Successful completion of firearms instructor training course for each weapon conducting a 
requalification for. Achieved prior to this application process. No fee assessed for this 
application. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Not applicable. 

Initial fee Not applicable. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Duration  Valid for three years. OAC 109:2-13-04(D) 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No. 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes. OAC 109:2-13-04€ 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-13 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Not applicable 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Not applicable. 
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What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Having unapproved instructors providing instruction to potential Ohio peace officers. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Assess fee schedule for administration processing of applicant documentation. 
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Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Consistent. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Firearms Requalification Program Instructor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification 
(O.A.C. 109:2-13-
04) 

Yes – certification 
as a psychomotor 
skills instructor 
(Ind. Code Ann. 5-
2-1-9; 250 Ind. 
Admin. Code 2-10-
1, 2-10-2, 2-10-5, 
and 2-10-6; 
Indiana Law 
Enforcement 
Academy, 
Instructor 
Certification) 

Yes – KLEC 
certification for 
firearms 
instructor (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. 
237.140; 503 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
1:180) 

Not required by 
statute or rule  

Certifications are 
approved by 
MPOETC and 
issued by the 
Executive Director 
(53 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
2164; 37 Pa. Code 
203.72) 

Firearms Level 1 
Instructor 
certification plus 
Law Enforcement 
Level 1 instructor 
certification by 
LEPSS (W. Va. 
Code R. 149-2-5 
and 7-14-1) 
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Firearms Requalification Program Instructor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 
training 

Firearms 
instructor training 
course  

ILETB instructor 
training course 
and high school 
diploma or GED 

KLEC firearms 
instructor course 
required  

None specified Possess a current 
police firearms 
instructor rating 
from the NRA, the 
state police, the 
FBI, Smith and 
Wesson Academy, 
the Philadelphia 
Police Academy, 
United States 
Secret Service, or 
other certification 
approved by 
MPOETC 

For Firearms Level 
1, must satisfy 
qualifications 
required for Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1; and 
complete law 
enforcement 
handgun firearms 
instructor school, 
of not less than 40 
hours, approved 
by LEPSS 

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1, must 
have certification 
as law 
enforcement 
officer if 
applicable; high 
school diploma or 
equivalent; 
minimum of six 
hours of verified 
training in each 
academic subject 
area within the 
five years 
preceding the 
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Firearms Requalification Program Instructor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

application for 
which 
certification is 
desired (with 
possible 
additional training 
required by 
LEPSS); 40 hours 
of instructor 
development 
training approved 
by the LEPSS  

Experience Three years of 
relevant law 
enforcement 
experience 

Three years of law 
enforcement or 
relevant 
experience 

No None specified Five years police 
experience, or 
have an Associate 
of Arts degree 
and four years 
police experience, 
or have a 
Bachelor of Arts 
degree and three 
years police 
experience 

For Firearms Level 
1, must have 
experience in use, 
care, and 
maintenance of a 
firearm 

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1, must 
have three years 
of experience as 
police officer, 
including 
specified amount 
of direct work 
experience in the 
occupation or 
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Firearms Requalification Program Instructor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

area in which 
certification is 
desired 

Exam No No No None specified None specified None specified 

Continuing 
education 

None specified None specified None specified None specified Yes (unspecified 
number of hours) 

Four hours 
(possibly 12 
hours) needed 

Frequency of 
reporting – every 
24 months 

Professional 
responsibility or 
ethics expressly 
required – no 
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Firearms Requalification Program Instructor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified None specified None specified  None specified None specified Unclear if fee for 
licensee – but 
special $12 court 
cost and bond 
add-ons charged 
in criminal cases, 
money collected 
put in special 
state fund, and 
fund used for 
funding of law 
enforcement 
entry level 
training programs, 
professional 
development 
programs, and 
certification of 
law enforcement 
officers 

License duration Three years Three years None specified  None specified Two years Four years 

Renewal fee None specified None specified None specified  None specified None specified Unclear – see 
initial licensure 
fee, above 
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Certification for special police 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Certain peace officer positions are classified under ORC 109.71 as “special police”. These positions are required to complete all basic peace 
officer training as previously identified in ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:21, and for all purposes are defined as “peace officers”. 

This classification is not tracked separately from basic peace officer. 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually Falls under basic peace officer. 

Number renewed annually Falls under basic peace officer. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

 

Education or training requirements Subject to OAC 109:2-1 

Experience requirements Subject to OAC 109:2-1 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Subject to OAC 109:2-1 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Subject to OAC 109:2-1 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Subject to OAC 109:2-1 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Subject to OAC 109:2-1 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-1 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Prevents untrained persons from performing function of peace officer. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

N/A 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Special Police, Security Guard, or Person Otherwise Privately Employed in a Police Capacity 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
109.78; O.A.C. 
109:2-3-02, 109:2-
3-07, 109:2-3-08, 
109:2-3-09, 109:2-
3-10, 109:2-3-11, 
and 109:2-3-12) 

Yes – each private 
security agency 
must be licensed 
by the private 
investigator and 
security guard 
licensing board 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-30-1-8, 25-30-
1-16, 25-30-1.3-7; 
874 Ind. Admin. 
Code 1-1-3, 1-2-1, 
and 1-3-1; Indiana 
Professional 
Licensing Agency, 
Security Guard 
Agency License) 

No license 
required for 
private security 
officers, but may 
receive KLEC 
peace officer 
certification upon 
request (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 15.380, 
15.382, and 
15.404; 503 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
1:110, 1:120, and 
1:140) 

Yes – Department 
of State Police 
license of special 
police or security 
guard business 
and employee 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 338.1053, 
338.1054, 
338.1055, 
338.1056, 
338.1056a, 
338.1059, 
338.1075, and 
338.1081) 

Yes – certificate 
for privately 
employed agents 
providing watch 
guard, protective 
patrol, detective 
or criminal 
investigative 
services, issued by 
Commissioner of 
Pennsylvania 
State Police (22 
Pa. Cons. Stat. 43, 
44, 46, 47, 48.1, 
and 50.1) 

Yes – license from 
Secretary of State 
for security guard 
firm (which could 
be individual) 

Persons acting as 
security guards 
for a licensed firm 
do not need a 
license, but must 
satisfy same 
criteria required 
for firm except for 
training or 
experience 
requirement (W. 
Va. Code Ann. 30-
18-5 to 30-18-10) 

Education or 
training 

Basic peace 
officer training or 
alternative 
experience 

Bachelor’s degree 
or higher in 
criminal justice or 
related field from 
an accredited 
university, or 
meet experience 

High school or 
GED and basic 
training required 

Training as 
prescribed by the 
Department of 
State Police 

Education and 
training program 
in the handling of 
lethal weapons, 
law enforcement 
and protection of 
rights of citizens 

For security guard 
firm, must have 
one year of 
training 
substantially 
equivalent to 
experience 
described below, 
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Special Police, Security Guard, or Person Otherwise Privately Employed in a Police Capacity 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

requirements 
below 

If active duty 
police officer who 
did basic training 
with MPOETC, 
granted waiver of 
training 
requirements 
upon 
presentation to 
Commissioner of 
successful 
completion of 
training 
requirements and 
successful 
completion of a 
biennial firearms 
qualification exam 
administered by 
officer’s police 
agency 

or the experience 
described below 

For persons acting 
as security guard, 
provided by firm 
licensee 

Experience Alternative to 
training/ 
education: 20 
years active duty 
as peace officer 

Alternative to 
training/ 
education: two 
years of specified 
security or 
investigative 
experience 
verified by a 

No Three years as a 
business in 
another state, 
four years as a 
business 
employee or 
supervisory guard, 
four years as 

Alternative to 
training/education: 
retired police 
officer of a 
Pennsylvania 
Municipality or 
the Pennsylvania 
State Police after 

For security 
guard firm, must 
have had at least 
one year verified, 
full-time 
employment 
conducting 
security guard 
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Special Police, Security Guard, or Person Otherwise Privately Employed in a Police Capacity 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

minimum of 4,000 
hours of 
employment 

full-time police 
officer, or two 
years as military 
police officer 

full-time for 20 
years and retired 
in good standing 
and has assumed 
the duties of a 
privately 
employed agent 
on or before three 
years from the 
date of 
retirement  

If a retired police 
officer 
commences their 
duties as a 
privately 
employed agent 
after three years 
from the date of 
retirement, must 
meet the physical 
and psychological 
requirements for 
certification 

business or 
conducting the 
private 
investigation 
business working 
for a licensed 
firm, 
substantially 
equivalent 
experience, or 
training 
described above  

Exam Yes None specified No None specified None specified None specified 

Continuing 
education 

Annual firearm 
recertification 

None specified 40 hours per year  None specified None specified None specified 
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Special Police, Security Guard, or Person Otherwise Privately Employed in a Police Capacity 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$15 $150 None specified  $200 for 
individual or sole 
proprietorship 
business, $300 for 
other business 
entity 

Not more than 
$15 

$50 service 
charge plus 
license fee of 
$100 for 
individual and 
$200 for firm; also 
liability insurance 
or bond of $5,000 

License duration None specified Four years None specified Two years for 
license of 
business 

Five years Two years for 
initial license and 
one year for each 
subsequent 
renewal 

Renewal fee None specified $150 or $300 if 
filed one year or 
more from the 
renewal date 

None specified $100 for sole 
proprietorship; 
$150 or $250 for 
business entity 

Discretionary, not 
to exceed $15 

Discretionary, not 
to exceed $50 
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Certification for commander or chief administrator of a private security training course 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Commander means the individual, appointed or employed by a training institution and certified by the executive director, as chief 
administrator of a private security training program. 

OAC 109:2-3-01(B) 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 19 

Number renewed annually 2019: 8 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant changes. 

Education or training requirements Minimum qualification identified in OAC 109:2-3-04 (B). 

HS/GED; 90 quarter hours or 60 semester hours at an accredited college or university; 
completion of commander training program approved by the executive director. 

Experience requirements Three years full time experience in the private security field, a security-related field or 
equivalent, as determined by the executive director. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Not applicable 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

24 hours of training relevant to conducting and overseeing a basic training academy. 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Valid for five years. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes. OAC 109:2-3-04(G) 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-3 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Ne fees assessed at this time. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

No 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Having unapproved commanders providing instruction/oversight of academies to potential Ohio private security officers. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Increase fees established with private security OPOTC mandated administration. 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Unknown 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Commander of a Private Security Training Program 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification 
(O.A.C. 109:2-3-
04) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED; commander 
training program; 
90 quarter hours 
or 60 semester 
hours in lieu of 
management 
experience 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience Three years in 
private security or 
similar field and 
two years in 
management  

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

24 hours every 
five years and 
commander 
conference, if 
offered 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Commander of a Private Security Training Program 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration Five years N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 

Certification for instructor of private security training program 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Persons delivering instruction in OPOTC-approved private security basic training academies. 

OAC 109:2-3-05 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 62 

Number renewed annually 2019: 46 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant changes. 

Education or training requirements Hs graduate/GED; completion of course of instruction approved by executive director designed 
to prepare the individual to teach; completion of an instructor-level training program approved 
by the executive director. OAC 109:2—05(B) 

Experience requirements Five years full time experience in private security or a related field, as determined by the 
executive director. OAC 109:2-3-05(B)(2) 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Not applicable. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Written evidence from commander that instructor has taught in at least two commission-
approved courses during the most recent certification period; attend at least fifteen clock hours 
of professional development or continuing education relative to at least one of the areas for 
which the individual is certified. 

OAC 109:2-3-05(D) 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Valid for three years 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Unknown 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

Yes. Not a requirement to complete private security training for all private security positions. 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes. OAC 109:2-3-05€ 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.78 and OAC 109:2-3 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Not available at this time. Fees generated for some administrative duties assigned by ORC 109.78. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Not applicable 
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What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Reduces “harm” by providing consistent and approved training for persons completing training. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Review and adjust fee schedule through legislation to meet ORC 109.73(C)(5) language. Feeds have not been adjusted for 30+ years. 
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Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Unknown. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Instructor of Private Security Training Program 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification 
(O.A.C. 109:2-3-
05) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED; completion 
of preparation 
course  

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience Five years in 
security or related 
field 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Instructor of Private Security Training Program 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Continuing 
education 

15 hours every 
three years 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration Three years N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 

Certification for court bailiff or deputy bailiff authorized to be armed while on duty 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Means any person employed by a court of record and designated by a judge of that court of record as a bailiff or deputy bailiff who is 
authorized to carry a firearm while on duty. 

OAC 109:2-5-01 
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Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 228 

Number renewed annually Not applicable 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Fluctuates based on changeover in court systems. As judges are elected several bring their own 
staff in. Election years see an increase in attendees. 

Education or training requirements Any court officer required to complete training unless meet exceptions identified in OAC 109:2-
5-02 (A)(1-3). 

Experience requirements Not applicable 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Successful completion of approved basic course based on recommendation of academy 
commander. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Annual firearms requalification per ORC 109.801 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  One-time completion of training program. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

Yes. OAC 109:2-5-02 provides exceptions to required training 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes. If it is determined the bailiff or deputy bailiff did not successfully complete the basic training 
program certification could be denied. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73(A)(9)(a-b) and OAC 109:2-5 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Fees assessed for attendance in training allocated to OPOTA for advanced training. 
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Not applicable 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Permitting untrained persons with firearms to provide court security services. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 
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Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Asses administrative fees to generate revenue in support of ORC 109.73(C)(5). 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Unknown 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Court Bailiff or Deputy Bailiff Who Carries a Firearm While on Duty 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
109.77; O.A.C. 
109:2-5-02, 109:2-
5-07, 109:2-5-08, 
and 109:2-5-10) 

Certification 
required as part 
of basic training 
for law 
enforcement (Ind. 
Code Ann. 5-2-1-
9(g) and 33-35-3-

Yes – KLEC 
certification for 
court security 
officers (Kentucky 
Department of 
Criminal Justice 
Training, Certified 

No specific 
statute or rule 
found 

Yes – nothing 
specified for 
bailiffs but 
certification for 
county probation 
officers from 
County Probation 

Yes – certification 
(same as required 
for deputy sheriff) 
for person 
employed by 
sheriff to serve 
civil process, 
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Court Bailiff or Deputy Bailiff Who Carries a Firearm While on Duty 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

3; 250 Ind. Admin. 
Code 2-2-1 and 2-
2-4; Indiana Law 
Enforcement 
Academy, Basic 
Training – Tier 1) 

Court Security 
Officer) 

Officers’ Firearm 
Education and 
Training 
Commission 
(CPOFETC) (61 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 6305 
and 6306) 

while armed; so, 
in effect, same as 
basic firearms 
training 
certification for 
any peace officer 
(W. Va. Code Ann. 
50-1-14 and 7-14-
1; W. Va. Code R. 
149-2-10) 

Education or 
training 

Basic training for 
court officers 

Basic training  High school or 
GED and basic 
training  

N/A Yes Training with 
officer’s primary 
duty weapon 
(generally, the 
officer’s 
handgun); must 
be separated by a 
minimum period 
of three months; 
and must satisfy 
minimum passing 
score set by LEPSS 

Experience No No No  N/A None specified None specified  

Exam No No No N/A None specified None specified 

Continuing 
education 

No Two hours 
in-service training 
in firearms 

40 hours every 
two years 

N/A None specified Hours needed not 
specified, but 
minimum score 
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Court Bailiff or Deputy Bailiff Who Carries a Firearm While on Duty 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

required every 
year 

set by LEPSS must 
be satisfied 

Frequency of 
reporting – semi-
annual, separated 
by at least three 
months 

Professional 
responsibility or 
ethics not 
expressly required  

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified None specified None specified  N/A None specified Unclear if fee for 
licensee – but 
special $12 court 
cost and bond 
add-ons charged 
in criminal cases, 
money collected 
put in special 
state Fund, and 
Fund used for 
funding of law 
enforcement 
entry level 
training programs, 
professional 
development 
programs, and 
certification of 
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Court Bailiff or Deputy Bailiff Who Carries a Firearm While on Duty 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

law enforcement 
officers 

License duration None specified None specified None specified  N/A None specified None specified, 
but semi-annual 
qualification 
required (same as 
applicable to 
deputy sheriff) 

Renewal fee None specified None specified None specified  N/A None specified None specified 

 

Certification for commander, director, or head of basic school for bailiff or deputy bailiff 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Director or head of a basic school for court officers. OAC 109:2-5-01(C) 
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Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 5 

Number renewed annually Not tracked in current record management system 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Numbers consistently low 

Education or training requirements Identified in OAC 109:2-5-05 

HS grad/GED 

Experience requirements Five years relevant law enforcement experience; 5 years as court office, or five years’ experience 
as corrections officer authorized to carry a firearm OAC 109:2-5-05 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Completion of a commander conference 

OAC 109:2-5-05(6) 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

At least 24-hours of training relevant to conducting and overseeing a basic training school 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Certification valid for five years. OAC 109:2-5-05(C) 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, under OAC 109:2-5-05(D) 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-5 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fees assessed at this time. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Not applicable 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Reduces potential for harm by reducing untrained professionals from providing training. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Implement fee schedule to address administrative costs of certification process. 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Not applicable 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Commander, Director, or Head of Basic School for Court Officers 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification 
(O.A.C. 109:2-5-
05) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

None specified 
(61 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
6305) 

Probably – LEPSS 
certification, since 
person employed 
by sheriff to serve 
civil process, 
while armed, has 
same training as 
deputy sheriff; so, 
in effect, same as 
certification for 
Commander of 
Peace Officer 
Training School 
(W. Va. Code Ann. 
50-1-14; W. Va. 
Code R. 149-2-4) 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED 

N/A N/A N/A None specified 
but CPOFETC does 
establish 
minimum 
qualifications for 
instructors 

Assessed in 
determining 
approval, but 
details not 
specified 
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Commander, Director, or Head of Basic School for Court Officers 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience Five years relevant 
law enforcement 
experience; five 
years as court 
officer or five 
years as 
corrections officer 
authorized to 
carry a firearm; 
and two years of 
supervisory 
experience 

N/A N/A N/A None specified Assessed in 
determining 
approval, but 
details not 
specified 

Exam No N/A N/A N/A None specified Unclear – nothing 
else specified or 
provided 

Continuing 
education 

24 hours every 
five years 

N/A N/A N/A None specified Unclear – nothing 
else specified or 
provided 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A N/A None specified Unclear – nothing 
else specified or 
provided 

License duration Five years N/A N/A N/A None specified Unclear – nothing 
else specified or 
provided 
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Commander, Director, or Head of Basic School for Court Officers 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A N/A None specified Unclear – nothing 
else specified or 
provided 

 

Certification for unit instructor of basic school for bailiff and deputy bailiff  

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

An OPOTC-approved person to deliver training in the program. 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 3 

Number renewed annually 2019: 8 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant change. 

Education or training requirements HS grad or GED; successful completion of eighty-hour instructional skills course or equivalent as 
approved by the executive director. 

OAC 109:2-5-06 

Experience requirements Five years of relevant experience as a court officer, law enforcement officer, or a corrections 
officer authorized to carry a firearm while on duty and required to complete annual firearms 
requalification. 

OAC 109:2-5-06 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

No exam required. Successful documentation of requirements required for certification. 

OAC 109:2-5-06 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Certification valid for three years. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, OAC 109:2-05-06 (D) 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-5 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fees assessed for administrative processing. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Not applicable 
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What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Reduces potential for untrained persons to deliver training. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Assess fee schedule to generate revenue relative to administrative processing supported by ORC 109.73(C) 
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Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Unknown 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Unit Instructor of Basic School for Court Officers 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification 
(O.A.C. 109:2-5-
06) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule  

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

None specified 
(61 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
6305) 

Yes – LEPSS 
certification, since 
person employed 
by sheriff to serve 
civil process, 
while armed, has 
same training as 
deputy sheriff; so, 
in effect, same as 
certification for 
Unit Instructor of 
a Peace Officer 
Training School 
(W. Va. Code Ann. 
50-1-14; W. Code 
R. 149-2-5) 
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Unit Instructor of Basic School for Court Officers 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED 

N/A N/A N/A None specified 
but CPOFETC does 
establish 
minimum 
qualifications for 
instructors 

For Law 
Enforcement Level 
1, must have 
certification as law 
enforcement 
officer if 
applicable; high 
school diploma or 
equivalent; 
minimum of six 
hours of verified 
training in each 
academic subject 
area within the 
five years 
preceding the 
application for 
which certification 
is desired (with 
possible additional 
training required 
by LEPSS); 40 
hours of instructor 
development 
training approved 
by the LEPSS 

For Firearms Level 
1, must satisfy 
qualifications 
required for Law 
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Unit Instructor of Basic School for Court Officers 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Enforcement 
Level 1; and 
complete law 
enforcement 
handgun firearms 
instructor school, 
of not less than 40 
hours, approved 
by LEPSS  

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 2 (instructor 
of instructors), 
must have current 
certification as 
law enforcement 
officer; high 
school diploma or 
equivalent; and 
successful 
completion of 
approved 
instructor/trainer 
course in the 
subject matter 
requested within 
previous five 
years 
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Unit Instructor of Basic School for Court Officers 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience Five years 
relevant law 
enforcement 
experience; five 
years as court 
officer, or five 
years as 
corrections officer 
authorized to 
carry a firearm; 
and two years of 
supervisory 
experience 

N/A N/A N/A None specified For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1, must 
have three years 
of experience as 
police officer, 
including 
specified amount 
of direct work 
experience in the 
occupation or 
area in which 
certification is 
desired 

For Firearms Level 
1, must have 
experience in use, 
care, and 
maintenance of a 
firearm 

For Law 
Enforcement 
Level 2, must 
have seven years’ 
experience as 
certified police 
officer; and four 
years’ experience 
as Level 1 
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Unit Instructor of Basic School for Court Officers 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

instructor within 
the previous five 
years 

Exam No N/A N/A N/A None specified None specified 

Continuing 
education 

24 hours every 
five years 

N/A N/A N/A None specified If Law 
Enforcement 
Level 1, eight 
hours needed 
every 24 months 

If Firearms Level 
1, four hours 
(possibly 12 
hours) needed 
every 24 months 

If Law 
Enforcement 
Level 2, unclear, 
but probably 
required 

Professional 
responsibility or 
ethics not 
expressly required  

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A N/A None specified None specified 
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Unit Instructor of Basic School for Court Officers 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration Five years N/A N/A N/A None specified Four years 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A N/A None specified None specified 

 

Certification for state public defender criminal investigator who carries a firearm on duty 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Criminal investigator means any person employed and designated by the state public defender as a criminal investigator who carries a firearm 
while on duty. OAC 109:2-6 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually Not tracked 

Number renewed annually Not tracked 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Unknown 

Education or training requirements  

Experience requirements  

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Final written examination administered at end of course work. Must receive a minimum score of 
70% t successfully complete program. Administered by course commander. 

OAC 109:2-6-08 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Not applicable 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Unknonwn 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

Yes, if not carrying a firearm while on duty, this program is not required. 

OAC 109:2-6-02(A) 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, if executive director deems student did not successfully complete program, under ORC 
109.75 could revoke certificate of completion, if one was awarded. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 (A)(9)(a-b) and OAC 109:2-6 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fees assessed to commission. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Not applicable 
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What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Reduces untrained persons from performing work and carrying a firearm. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Implement fee schedule to generate revenue to cover administrative processing under ORC 109.73(C). 
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Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Unknown. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

State Public Defender Criminal Investigator Who Carries a Firearm While on Duty 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – certification 
(R.C. 109.77; 
O.A.C. 109:2-6-02 
and 109:2-6-05 to 
109:2-6-10) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – if 
professional 
investigator is 
required – 
licensed by the 
Michigan 
Department of 
Labor and 
Economic Growth 
and additionally 
licensed to carry a 
deadly weapon 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 780.991 
Sec.11(5), 
338.823, 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 
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State Public Defender Criminal Investigator Who Carries a Firearm While on Duty 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

338.825-827, and 
338.839) 

Education or 
training 

Basic training 
program 

N/A N/A High school or 
equivalent 

N/A N/A 

Experience No N/A N/A Three years N/A N/A 

Exam Yes N/A N/A None specified N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

No N/A N/A None specified N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A $600 N/A N/A 

License duration None specified N/A N/A Three years N/A N/A 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A None specified N/A N/A 
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Approval for instructor of school for basic course for state public defender criminal 
investigator who carries a firearm while on duty 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Addressed under OAC 109:2-6-04 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually Not tracked 

Number renewed annually Not tracked 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Not tracked 

Education or training requirements Each instructor required to have the approval of the executive director. Approval based on 
recommendation of the commander and submission of statement of qualifications as prescribed 
by the executive director for each subject or subjects the instructor will teach. OAC 109:2-6-04 

Experience requirements Not applicable 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Not applicable 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Not applicable 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Not applicable 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Unknown 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, under ORC 109.75 and OAC 109:2-6 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-06 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fees assessed. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

No 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Prevents untrained individuals from delivering instruction in the program. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Implement fee schedule to generate revenue for administrative processing in accordance with ORC 109.73(C) 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Unknown 

 



Ohio Legislative Service Commission 1075 Occupational Regulation 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Instructor of School for Basic Training Course for Criminal Investigators Employed by the State Public Defender 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification 
(O.A.C. 109:2-6-04) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Education or 
training 

Qualifications as 
prescribed by the 
Director of the 
Ohio Peace 
Officer Training 
Commission 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience As prescribed by 
the Director  

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Certification for canine evaluator who conducts examinations for law enforcement canine 
units 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Means a person who has been certified by the executive director to conduct examinations to determine the ability of a canine unit to perform 
at the minimum proficiency standards established by the commission 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually  

Number renewed annually Canine units are required to be evaluated annually 



Ohio Legislative Service Commission 1077 Occupational Regulation 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

 

Education or training requirements Minimum standards for certification of law enforcement canine units addressed in OAC 109:2-7-
03 

Experience requirements Qualifications for evaluators addressed in OAC 109:2-7-04 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Persons seeking canine evaluator instructor certification must complete a 24 hour training 
program administered by the OPOTA. Course topics are addressed in OAC 109:2-7-02.  

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Not applicable, unless mandated and funding provided 

OAC 109:2-18 

Initial fee The OPOTA (Academy) charges a fee of $300 per student. These funds are directed to the 
OPOTA, not commission. 

Duration  24-hour training program 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Not for this program. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

A similar certification exists under the North American Police Work Dog Association and many 
persons obtain dual certification. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No. Under OAC 109:2-7-03 a canine unit must have successfully completed a training program 
approved by the executive director designed to prepare canine units to perform law 
enforcement duties. 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Applicable under ORC 109.73(A)(10) and OAC 109:2-7 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fees assessed by the commission for this. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Malfeasant application of canines in law enforcement duties. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

None identified at this time but program is under a constant state of review. 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Unknown 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Canine Evaluator Who Conducts Examinations for Law Enforcement Canine Units 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
109.73; O.A.C. 
109:2-7-02 and 
109:2-7-04) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Education or 
training 

Completion of 
patrol-related 
canine training 
program, core 
course for 
evaluators, and 
evaluator course 
for patrol-related 
canine evaluators 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience Five years as law 
enforcement 
officer; three 
years as canine 
handler or trainer 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

18 hours training 
in canine-related 
topics 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Canine Evaluator Who Conducts Examinations for Law Enforcement Canine Units 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration Three years N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 

Certification for law enforcement canine unit 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Means a canine handler, who shall be a sworn law enforcement officer and a canine 

OAC 109:2-7-01(F) 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 1,389: Unit Special Purpose-759 Unit Patrol Related-630 

Number renewed annually Canine units required to complete annual evaluation treated a new certification. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Data has remained consistent over years. 

Education or training requirements Successful completion of annual certification under OAC 109:2-7-05 meeting minimum 
standards identified under OAC 109:2-7-03 

Experience requirements Not an OPOTC requirement. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Practical examination based on minimum standards established by the commission. Exam 
administered OPOTC-approved by law enforcement canine evaluator. No fees assessed for exam 
collected by commission. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Not established by commission. 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Certification is valid for one year from date of successful completion of evaluation. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

North American Police Work Dog Association offers a similar certification. Many units seek dual 
certification. This does not substitute for commission mandated certification. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Applicable under ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-7 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Not applicable. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 
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What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 
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Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Law Enforcement Canine Unit, a Canine Handler Who is a Sworn Law Enforcement Officer and a Canine 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – certification 
(R.C. 109.73; 
O.A.C. 109:2-7-03 
and 109:2-7-05)  

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No, but training 
required in 
training schools 
according to 
policy of 
employer law 
enforcement 
agency; also 
training of canine 
unit of Michigan 
State Police (MSP) 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 750.50c; 
Michigan State 
Police, Canine 
Unit) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 
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Law Enforcement Canine Unit, a Canine Handler Who is a Sworn Law Enforcement Officer and a Canine 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 
training 

Approved training 
program 

N/A N/A Basic training as a 
dog handler; 
14-week basic 
training of MSP 
canine unit 

N/A N/A 

Experience No N/A N/A None specified N/A N/A 

Exam Yes N/A N/A None specified N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

No N/A N/A None specified N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A N/A 

License duration One year N/A N/A None specified N/A N/A 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A None specified N/A N/A 
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Certification for corrections officers or jail staff of full-service jail 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Those persons whose positions consist primarily of duties that require prisoner supervision, direct interaction with prisoners and 
responsibility for the safety and security of prisoners and the facility. 

OAC 109:2-9-01 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 544 

Number renewed annually Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant change 

Education or training requirements Function of employer 

Experience requirements Not applicable 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Successful completion of an approved full-service corrections officer training school will result in 
certificate of completion being issued to student. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Function of employer 

Initial fee Fee assessed allocated to OPOTA 

Tuition $545 

Duration  No expiration of certificate 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections New Employee Orientation recognized as 
similar/reciprocal training. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

Yes, employer could not send employee to training and OPOTC not aware, 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, students required to successfully complete state certification exam. OAC 109:2-9-10 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73(A)(11) and OAC 109:2-9 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Fees collected from tuition for delivery of program allocated to OPOTA. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Unknown 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Reduces untrained persons form performing function of corrections officer. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Effective at reducing the potential of harm and providing awareness to student in function of corrections. 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Allocate fees to generate revenue for administrative processing of corrections academy under ORC 109.73(C)(5). 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

ODRC operated under OAC 5120:1-7 and ORC 5120.01 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Corrections Officer or Jail Staff of Full-service Jail 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
109.75; O.A.C. 
109:2-9-02, 109:2-
9-06, 109:2-9-10, 
and 5120:1-8-18) 

None specified 
(Indiana 
Department of 
Correction, 
Correctional 
Officer) 

Yes, required for 
jail personnel (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. 
441.115; 501 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
3:160) 

Yes for local 
corrections officer 
– certification by 
Sheriffs’ 
Coordinating and 
Training Council 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 791.538 and 
791.541-543) 

None specified 
(37 Pa. Code 
95.221) 

Yes – does not 
have “full-service 
jail” category, but 
has category of 
facility that can 
hold person 
pending trial or 
after sentence, 
designated a “jail” 

Regional Jail and 
Correctional 
Facility Authority 
(RJCFA) approval 
for correctional 
officers (W.Va. 
Code R. 95-1-5 
and 95-1-24; W. 
Va. Code Ann. 7-
14B-1, et seq.) 

Education or 
training 

24 hours of 
training in first 
year of 
assignment 

High school 
diploma or GED 

40 hours if duties 
are related to 
direct supervision 
required 

High school or 
equivalent; 
training required 

Training for all 
corrections 
personnel 

For all new 
correctional 
officers, at least 
120 hours of 
RJCFA-approved 
orientation and 
training during 
first year of 
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Corrections Officer or Jail Staff of Full-service Jail 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

employment, with 
at least 40 of the 
hours completed 
prior to being 
independently 
assigned to a 
particular post 

Experience No No No  Yes, depending on 
the date of 
previous 
employment as 
corrections officer 

None specified None specified 

Exam Yes No No  Not readily 
attainable 

None specified Yes – civil service 
for full-time 
corrections officer 
appointed by 
sheriff for jail in 
county of 25,000 
population or 
more; apparently, 
discretionary for 
county of less 
than 25,000 
population  

Continuing 
education 

Eight hours per 
year 

None specified 24 hours per year  Yes – annually None specified 40 hours per year 
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Corrections Officer or Jail Staff of Full-service Jail 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A None specified  Not readily 
attainable 

None specified None specified 

License duration One year N/A None specified  One year None specified None specified, 
but annual 
continuing 
education 
required 

Renewal fee None specified N/A None specified  Not readily 
attainable 

None specified None specified 

 

Administrator or supervisor of full-service jail 

Surrounding state survey (LSC) 
 

Administrator or Supervisor of Full-service Jail 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
109.75; O.A.C. 
109:2-9-02, 109:2-
9-06, and 5120:1-
8-18) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No – exempted 
from peace officer 
certification 
provisions, but 
may receive KLEC 
peace officer 
certification upon 
request 

Sheriff as 
administrator of 
jails – license 
granted upon 
appointment or 
election and 
MCOLES review of 
executed oath of 
office (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – does not 
have “full service 
jail” category, but 
has category of 
facility that can 
hold person 
pending trial or 
after sentence, 
designated a “jail”  
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Administrator or Supervisor of Full-service Jail 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

51.75, 28.609a, 
and 28.611; Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
28.14314, 
28.14315, 
28.14316, 
28.14317, and 
28.14512) 

RJCFA approval 
for administrative 
and managerial 
staff (W.Va. Code 
R. 95-1-5 and 95-
1-24) 

Education or 
training 

40 hours of 
training in first 
year of 
assignment 

N/A New jailer training 
program required 

Basic training 
required 

N/A At least 40 hours 
of orientation if 
new to the facility 

Experience No N/A No No N/A None specified 

Exam Yes N/A No Yes N/A None specified 

Continuing 
education 

16 hours per year N/A 40 hours per year In-service training 
available but not 
required 

N/A Eight hours per 
year of 
management 
training for 
administrative 
and managerial 
staff 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A None specified Permitted by 
MCOLES but 
amount not 
readily attainable 

N/A None specified 
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Administrator or Supervisor of Full-service Jail 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration One year N/A None specified None specified, 
but presumed 
duration is 
termination of 
tenure 

N/A None specified, 
but annual 
continuing 
education 
required 

Renewal fee None specified N/A None specified None specified N/A None specified 

 

Certification for full-service jail support staff 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Not applicable under OPOTC. 
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Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually  

Number renewed annually  

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

 

Education or training requirements  

Experience requirements  

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

 

Initial fee  

Duration   

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 
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Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Full-service Jail Support Staff 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
109.75; O.A.C. 
109:2-9-02, 109:2-
9-06, and 5120:1-
8-18) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

N/A No, but firearms 
training required, 
possibly other 
aspects of staffing 
according to 
facility policy or 
procedure (Mich. 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – does not 
have “full-service 
jail” category, but 
has category of 
facility that can 
hold person 
pending trial or 
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Full-service Jail Support Staff 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Admin. Code R. 
791.701 to 
791.736) 

after sentence, 
designated a “jail” 

RJCFA approval 
for 
clerical/support 
employees (W. 
Va. Code R. 95-1-5 
and 95-1-24) 

Education or 
training 

24 hours of 
training in first 
year of 
assignment 

N/A N/A Firearms, 
chemical agents 
training, possibly 
other aspects of 
staffing facility 

N/A For all new 
clerical/support 
employees, at 
least 40 hours of 
orientation and 
RJCFA-approved 
training during 
first year of 
employment, with 
24 of those hours 
completed prior 
to being 
independently 
assigned to a 
particular job 

Experience No N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

Exam Yes N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 
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Full-service Jail Support Staff 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Continuing 
education 

Two hours per 
year 

N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A Eight hours per 
year for 
clerical/support 
employees with 
minimal inmate 
contact, and 16 
hours per year for 
clerical/support 
employees with 
regular daily 
inmate contact 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

License duration One year N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A Not specified, but 
annual continuing 
education 
required 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 
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Certification for commander, director, or head of corrections training school 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Means the director or other head of a corrections training school which has been approved by the executive director. OAC 109:2-901 (C) 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 5 

Number renewed annually Not tracked 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant change 

Education or training requirements HS grad or GED, completion of OPOTC corrections school commander’s conference. OAC 109:2-
9-04(A) 

Experience requirements Written approval from sheriff or designee or a criminal justice agency administrator who is the 
executive head of a full-service jail. 

OAC 109:2-9-04(A)(2) 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

No written exam. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Completion of minimum 24-hours of training relevant to conducting and overseeing corrections 
training school. OAC 109:2-9-04(C) 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Certificate valid for five years 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, under OAC 109:2-9-04(D) 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-9 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Fees assessed for training allocated to OPOTA. No administrative processing fees assessed by OPOTC. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

State regulates Ohio department of Corrections and Rehabilitation under ORC 5120. 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Reduces untrained persons from oversight of corrections academy training. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Reduces harm. 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Allocate fees to generate revenue under ORC 109.73 for administrative processing of required documentation. 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Not applicable.  
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Commander of Corrections Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification 
(O.A.C. 109:2-9-
04) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – this 
designation not 
used, but 
individual 
coordinating the 
training and staff 
development in 
correctional 
facility, and 
person at 
supervisory level 
who plans, 
coordinates, and 
supervises 
training program 
for employees at 
jail facility of over 
100 employees 
must receive 
specialized 
training for that 
purpose (W. Va. 
Code R. 95-1-5, 
95-1-24, 95-2-5, 
95-2-28, 95-3-5, 
and 95-3-36) 



Ohio Legislative Service Commission 1112 Occupational Regulation 

Commander of Corrections Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED, instructor 
training program, 
OPOTC 

corrections 

school 

commander’s 

conference, and 

commander 

training program 

N/A N/A N/A N/A See above 

Experience No N/A N/A N/A N/A None specified 

Exam No N/A N/A N/A N/A None specified 

Continuing 
education 

24 hours every 
five years 

N/A N/A N/A N/A None specified 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A None specified 

License duration Five years N/A N/A N/A N/A None specified 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A None specified 
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Certification for unit instructor of corrections training school 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

OPOTC-approved persons who deliver corrections training in a corrections training academy. 

OAC 109:2-9-05 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 58 

Number renewed annually 2019: 44 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant change 

Education or training requirements HS grad or GED. OAC 109:2-9-05(B) 

Experience requirements Three years combined experience and training in the subject area to be taught; or recognition of 
occupational competency. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Not applicable 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Minimum of 12 clock hours of training in topics related to commission-approved corrections 
curriculum or to improve instructional abilities. OAC 109:2-9-04(D)(1)(a) 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Certificate valid for three years 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, OAC 109:2-9-04(E) 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-9 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fees assessed for application process. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

State regulates corrections occupation under ORC 5120 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Reduce untrained persons from teaching in OPOTC-approved corrections basic training academies 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Reduces potential for harm 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Assess fees for administrative processing of required application documents under ORC 109.73. 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Not applicable 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Instructor of Corrections Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification 
(O.A.C. 109:2-9-
05) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Not required by 
statute or rule, 
but the Michigan 
Sheriffs’ 
Coordinating and 
Training Council 
(MSCTC) has 
training policies 
described below 
(Michigan 
Sheriffs’ 
Coordinating and 
Training Council, 
Academy Trainer 
Requirements) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – this 
designation not 
used, but 
certification by 
RJCFA as 
“correctional 
trainer” for any 
individual 
providing 
pre-service, in-
service, or basic 
training for 
correctional staff 
(W. Va. Code R. 95-
1-5, 95-1-24, 95-2-
5, 95-2-28, 95-3-
23, and 95-3-36)  

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED; Instructor 
training; specific 
unit training 

N/A N/A High school 
diploma or 
equivalent; 
Instructor training 

N/A None specified 

Experience Three years 
institutional 
corrections 
experience 

N/A N/A Two years in 
position directly 
involved with 
specified types of 
offenders 

N/A None specified 
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Instructor of Corrections Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Exam No N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

Continuing 
education 

12 hours every 
three years 

N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

License duration Three years N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

 

Certification for special subject instructor of corrections training school 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

OPOTC-approved persons who deliver corrections training in a corrections training academy. 

OAC 109:2-9-05 
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Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 29 

Number renewed annually 2019: 44 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant change 

Education or training requirements Same as unit instructor. OAC 109:2-9-05 

Experience requirements Same as unit instructor 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Same as unit instructor 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Successfully complete over three years, minimum 8-hours of training in topics related to the 
commission-approved corrections curriculum. 

OAC 109:2-9-04((D)(2)(a) 

Initial fee No application fee 

Duration  Certification valid for three years 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, same as unit instructor 

OAC 109:2-9-04(E) 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-9 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fees assessed for application 
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Corrections occupation regulated under ORC 5120 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Reduce untrained persons from teaching in OPOTC-approved corrections training academy 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Reduces potential for harm. 
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Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Implement fees for administrative processing of required documentation under ORC 109.73. 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Not applicable 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Special Subject Instructor of Corrections Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certificate(O.A.C. 
109:2-9-05) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Not required by 
statute or rule, 
but MSCTC has 
training policies 
(Michigan 
Sheriffs’ 
Coordinating and 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – this 
designation not 
used, but 
certification by 
RJCFA as 
“correctional 
trainer” for any 
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Special Subject Instructor of Corrections Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Training Council, 
Academy Trainer 
Requirements) 

individual 
providing pre-
service, in-service, 
or basic training 
for correctional 
staff (W. Va. Code 
R. 95-1-5, 95-1-
24, 95-2-5, 95-2-
28, 95-3-23, and 
95-3-36) 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED  

N/A N/A High school 
diploma or 
equivalent; 
Instructor training 

N/A None specified 

Experience Three years 
combined subject 
experience and 
training  

N/A N/A Two years in 
position directly 
involved with 
specified types of 
offenders 

N/A None specified 

Exam No N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

Continuing 
education 

Eight hours every 
three years 

N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 
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Special Subject Instructor of Corrections Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration Three years N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

 

Certification for full-time corrections officer in 12-day jail facility 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Program discontinued, no longer applicable. Working to update OAC. 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Full-time Corrections Officer in 12-day Jail Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
109.75; O.A.C. 
109:2-11-02, 
109:2-11-06, 
109:2-11-10, and 
5120:1-10-18) 

Yes – ILETB 
certification 
required for all jail 
officers (Ind. Code 
Ann. 11-12-4-4) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – certification 
by MSCTC as local 
corrections officer 
in county jail, not 
local lock ups 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 791.538, 
791.541-791.543; 
Michigan Sheriffs’ 
Coordinating and 
Training Council, 
Minimum 
Standards) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – does not 
have “12-day 
facility” category, 
but has category 
of facility that can 
hold person 
pending trial or 
after sentence, 
designated a “jail” 

RJCFA approval 
for correctional 
officers (W.Va. 
Code R. 95-1-5 
and 95-1-24) 

Education or 
training 

Training in jail 
policies and 
procedures; Jailer 
basic training  

Completion of 
40-hour training 
program 
developed by 
ILETB 

N/A High school or 
equivalent; and 
160-hour training 
or higher 
education 
graduate or 
military veteran 
with corrections 
experience 

N/A For all new 
correctional 
officers, at least 
120 hours of 
RJCFA-approved 
orientation and 
training during 
first year of 
employment, with 
at least 40 of the 
hours completed 
prior to being 
independently 
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Full-time Corrections Officer in 12-day Jail Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

assigned to a 
particular post 

Experience No No N/A No N/A None specified 

Exam No None specified N/A Yes N/A None specified 

Continuing 
education 

Eight hours each 
year 

None specified N/A 20 hours annual 
in-service training 

N/A 40 hours each 
year 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified None specified N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

License duration None specified None specified N/A One year N/A None specified, 
but annual 
continuing 
education 
required 

Renewal fee None specified None specified N/A None specified N/A None specified 
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Certification for jail administrator or supervisor in 12-day jail facility 

Survey response (AGO) 
 

Description 

Program merged in corrections training. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Jail Administrator or Supervisor in 12-day Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
109.75; O.A.C. 
109:2-11-02, 
109:2-11-06, 
109:2-11-10, and 
5120:1-10-18) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule  

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule  

Sheriff as 
administrator of 
jails – license 
granted upon 
appointment or 
election and 
MCOLES review of 
executed oath of 
office (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 51.75 
– Sheriff has 
charge and 
custody of jails in 
the county. Mich. 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – does not 
have “12-day 
facility” category, 
but has category 
of facility that can 
hold person 
pending trial or 
after sentence, 
designated a “jail” 

Approval 
(probably by 
RJCFA) for 
administrative 
and managerial 
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Jail Administrator or Supervisor in 12-day Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Comp. Laws 
51.75, 28.609a, 
and 28.611; Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
28.14314, 
28.14315, 
28.14316, 
28.14317, and 
28.14512) 

staff (W. Va. Code 
R. 95-1-5 and 95-
1-24) 

Education or 
training 

Training in jail 
policies and 
procedures and 
40 hours of 
additional basic 
training 

N/A N/A Basic training 
required 

N/A At least 40 hours 
of orientation if 
new to the facility 

Experience No N/A N/A No N/A None specified 

Exam No N/A N/A Yes N/A None specified 

Continuing 
education 

Eight hours every 
year 

N/A N/A In-service training 
available but not 
required 

N/A For administrative 
and managerial 
staff, eight hours 
of management 
training per year 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A Permitted by 
MCOLES but 

N/A None specified 
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Jail Administrator or Supervisor in 12-day Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

amount not 
readily attainable 

License duration None specified N/A N/A None specified, 
but presumed 
duration is 
termination of 
tenure  

N/A None specified, 
but annual 
continuing 
education 
required 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

 

Certification for jail support staff in 12-day facility 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Not applicable. 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Jail Support Staff in 12-day Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
109.75; O.A.C. 
109:2-11-02, 
109:2-11-06, 
109:2-11-10, and 
5120:1-10-18) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No, but firearms 
training required, 
possibly other 
aspects of staffing 
according to 
facility policy or 
procedure (Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
791.701 to 
791.736) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – does not 
have “12-day 
facility” category, 
but has category 
of facility that can 
hold person 
pending trial or 
after sentence, 
designated a “jail” 

RJCFA approval for 
clerical/support 
employees  

(W. Va. Code R. 95-
1-5 and 95-1-24) 

Education or 
training 

Policies and 
procedures 
training 

N/A N/A Firearms, 
chemical agents 
training, possibly 
other aspects of 
staffing facility 

N/A For all new 
clerical/support 
employees, at 
least 40 hours of 
orientation and 
RJCFA-approved 
training during 
first year of 
employment, with 
24 of those hours 
completed prior 
to being 
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Jail Support Staff in 12-day Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

independently 
assigned to a 
particular job 

Experience No N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

Exam No N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

Continuing 
education 

Two hours per 
year 

N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A Eight hours per 
year for 
clerical/support 
employees with 
minimal inmate 
contact, and 16 
hours per year for 
clerical/support 
employees with 
regular daily 
inmate contact 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

License duration None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified, 
but annual 
continuing 
education 
required 
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Jail Support Staff in 12-day Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

 

Certification for staff in 12-hour facility 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Not applicable;  Program discontinued, no longer applicable. Working to update OAC. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Staff in 12-hour Jail Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification 
(O.A.C. 109:2-11-
02, 109:2-11-06, 
109:2-11-10, and 
5120:1-12-18) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Not required by 
statute or rule, 
but the MSCTC 
has training 
policies described 
below (Michigan 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – does not 
have “12-hour 
facility” category, 
but has category 
of facility that 
can hold person 
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Staff in 12-hour Jail Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Sheriffs’ 
Coordinating and 
Training Council, 
Academy Trainer 
Requirements) 

for not more 
than 72 hours, 
designated a 
“holding facility” 

Approval 
(probably by 
RJCFA) for 
clerical/support 
employees with 
minimal inmate 
contact, support 
employees with 
regular daily 
inmate contact, 
correctional 
officers, and 
administrative 
and managerial 
staff (W. Va. 
Code R. 95-3-5 
and 95-3-36) 

Education or 
training 

Training in jail 
policies and 
procedures and 
16 hours of first 
year training 

N/A N/A Firearms, 
chemical agents 
training, possibly 
other aspects of 
staffing facility 

N/A Yes, for all 
categories listed 
above  

For new 
clerical/support 
employees with 
minimal inmate 
contact, at least 
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Staff in 12-hour Jail Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

40 hours of 
orientation and 
approved training 
during first year of 
employment, with 
24 of those hours 
being completed 
prior to being 
independently 
assigned to a 
particular job  

For new support 
employees with 
daily inmate 
contact, at least 
40 hours during 
first year of 
employment, with 
24 of those hours 
being completed 
prior to being 
independently 
assigned to a 
particular job  

For new 
correctional 
officer, at least 
120 hours of 
approved 
orientation and 



Ohio Legislative Service Commission 1137 Occupational Regulation 

Staff in 12-hour Jail Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

training during 
first year of 
employment, with 
40 of those hours 
being completed 
prior to being 
independently 
assigned to a 
particular post  

For administrative 
and managerial 
staff, at least 40 
hours of 
orientation if new 
to the facility 

Experience No N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

Exam No N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

Continuing 
education 

Two hours per 
year 

N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A Yes, for all 
categories listed 
above 

Eight hours per 
year for no 
contact 
clerical/support 
employees, 16 
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Staff in 12-hour Jail Facility 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

hours per year for 
regular contact 
support 
employees, 40 
hours per year for 
correctional 
officers, and eight 
hours of 
managerial 
training per year 
for administrative 
and managerial 
staff 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

License duration None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified, 
but annual 
continuing 
education 
required 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 
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Certification for commander, director, or head of jailer training school 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Still applicable but phasing out. OAC 109:2-9-04 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019: 5 

Number renewed annually Not tracked 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant change 

Education or training requirements HS grad or GED 

Experience requirements Identified in OAC 109:2-9-04 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Not applicable 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Minimum 24-hours training relevant to conducting and overseeing a corrections training school. 
OAC 109:2-9-04(C)(1-3) 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Certification valid for five years. OAC 109:2-9-04(C) 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, OAC 109:2-9-04 (D) 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73(A)(11) and OAC 109:2-9 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fees assessed. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Unknown 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Prevent untrained persons from delivering instruction in program. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Unknown 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Commander, Director, or Head of Jailer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification 
(O.A.C. 109:2-11-
04) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – individual 
coordinating the 
training and staff 
development in 
jail or correctional 
facility, and 
person at 
supervisory level 
who plans, 
coordinates, and 
supervises 
training program 
for employees at 
jail facility of over 
100 employees, 
must receive 
specialized 
training for that 
purpose (W. Va. 
Code R. 95-1-5, 
95-1-24, 95-2-5, 
and 95-2-28) 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED, OPOTC 
commander 
conference, 
OPOTC instructor 

N/A N/A N/A N/A See above  
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Commander, Director, or Head of Jailer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

training program, 
and OPOTC 
commander 
training program 

Experience No N/A N/A N/A N/A None specified 

Exam No N/A N/A N/A N/A None specified 

Continuing 
education 

24 hours every 
five years 

N/A N/A N/A N/A None specified 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A None specified 

License duration Five years N/A N/A N/A N/A None specified 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A N/A N/A None specified 
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Certification for unit instructor of jailer training school 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Program discontinued, no longer applicable. Working to update OAC. 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 0 

Number renewed annually 0 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No programs delivery since 2015 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Unit Instructor of Jailer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification 
(O.A.C. 109:2-11-
05) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Not required by 
statute or rule, 
but the MSCTC 
has training 
policies described 
below (Michigan 
Sheriffs’ 
Coordinating and 
Training Council, 
Academy Trainer 
Requirements) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – does not 
have this 
category, but 
certification by 
RJCFA as 
“correctional 
trainer” for any 
individual 
providing 
pre-service, 
in-service, or basic 
training for 
correctional staff 
at jail or holding 
facility, and 
training for 
training personnel 
for correctional 
facility staff (W. 
Va. Code R. 95-1-
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Unit Instructor of Jailer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

5, 95-1-24, 95-2-5, 
95-2-28, 95-3-5, 
and 95-3-36) 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED, unit training 
program, and 
instructor training 
program 

N/A N/A High school or 
equivalent; 
Instructor training 

N/A None specified 

Experience Five years 
relevant full-time 
law enforcement 
experience or 
three years 
full-time 
corrections officer 
experience 

N/A N/A Two years in 
position directly 
involved with 
specified types of 
offenders 

N/A None specified 

Exam No N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

Continuing 
education 

Eight hours every 
three years 

N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

License duration Three years N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

 



Ohio Legislative Service Commission 1149 Occupational Regulation 

Certification for special subject instructor of jailer training school 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Program discontinued, no longer applicable. Working to update OAC. 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 0 

Number renewed annually 0 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No delivery of program since 2015 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-11 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fees assessed 
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Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Update OAC to reflect discontinuation of program delivery. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Special Subject Instructor of Jailer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification 
(O.A.C. 109:2-11-
05) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Not required by 
statute or rule, 
but the MSCTC 
has training 
policies described 
below (Michigan 
Sheriffs’ 
Coordinating and 
Training Council, 
Academy Trainer 
Requirements) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – does not 
have this 
category, but 
certification by 
RJCFA as 
“correctional 
trainer” for any 
individual 
providing 
pre-service, 
in-service, or basic 
training for 
correctional staff 
at jail or holding 
facility, and 
training for 
training personnel 
for correctional 
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Special Subject Instructor of Jailer Training School 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

facility staff (W. 
Va. Code R. 95-1-
5, 95-1-24, 95-2-5, 
95-2-28, 95-3-5, 
and 95-3-36) 

Education or 
training 

High school or 
GED 

N/A N/A High school or 
equivalent; 
Instructor training 

N/A None specified 

Experience Three years of 
experience in 
subject area to be 
taught 

N/A N/A Two years in 
position directly 
involved with 
specified types of 
offenders 

N/A None specified 

Exam No N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

Continuing 
education 

Four hours every 
three years 

N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified N/A N/A Not readily 
attainable 

N/A None specified 

License duration Three years N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 

Renewal fee None specified N/A N/A None specified N/A None specified 
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Appointment as agent of a county humane society 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Agent of County Humane Society 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
1717.06; O.A.C. 
109:2-15-02) 

Yes – as police 
officer, humane 
officer must be 
certified by the 
ILETB (Ind. Code 
Ann. 36-8-3-18 
and 5-2-19; 250 
Ind. Admin. Code 
2-2-1, 2-2-4, 2-3-
3,and 2-7-1) 

Yes – animal 
control officer (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. 
258.119; 302 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
101:010; Kentucky 
Animal Control 
Advisory Board, 
Animal Control 
Officer Training 
Manual) 

Not required by 
statute or rule 

None specified, 
but appointment 
required (Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 3703, 
3705, 3712, and 
3713) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Education or 
training 

20 hours of 
humane agent 
basic training 

High school and 
basic training  

High school and 
basic training  

None specified 80 hours 
minimum of 
instruction 

N/A 

Experience No No No None specified None specified N/A 

Exam No Yes No None specified Yes N/A 

Continuing 
education 

None specified 24 hours per year 
required 

24 hours every 
two years 

None specified 16 hours every 
two years 

N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified None specified None specified  None specified None specified N/A 
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Agent of County Humane Society 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration None specified None specified None specified  None specified None specified N/A 

Renewal fee None specified None specified None specified None specified None specified N/A 

 

Certification for a tactical medical professional to carry a firearm while on duty 

Survey responses (AGO) 
 

Description 

Any tactical medical professional that carries a firearm while on duty is required to complete a basic forearms course. OAC 109:2-2-02 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually Not tracked 

Number renewed annually Not tracked 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Not tracked 

Education or training requirements In addition to basic firearms course training, person required to complete a scenario training 
course approved by the executive director. OAC 109:2-2-02(C) 

Experience requirements Not applicable 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Successful completion of both an approved basic forearms course and a scenario training course 
approved by the executive director. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Annual firearms requalification required. ORC 109.801 

Initial fee Not applicable 

Duration  Annual firearms requalification required 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Not applicable 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes. If person does not successfully complete required training no certificate of completion will 
be provided. OAC 109:2-2-03 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 109.73 and OAC 109:2-2 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

No fee assessed to commission. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Not applicable 
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What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Prevent untrained persons from carrying firearm in the performance of duty. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. 

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

Assess fees for completion of training to commission to generate revenue under ORC 109.73(C) 
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Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Not applicable 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Tactical Medical Professional 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
109.748, 109.75, 
and 109.771; 
O.A.C. 109:2-2-02 
and 109-2-2-03) 

Agency 
supervising the 
tactical 
emergency 
medicine provider 
must be certified 
by the Indiana 
Medical Services 
Commission (Ind. 
Code Ann. 16-31-
3-25) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

Yes – license of 
medical first 
responder and 
medical first 
response service 
by Department of 
Public Health 
(DPH) (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
333.20906, 
333.20910, 
333.20912, 
333.20941, 
333.20950, and 
333.20954) 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 

No comparable 
position under 
statute or rule 
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Tactical Medical Professional 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 
training 

Basic firearms 
training course, 
scenario training 
if carrying a 
firearm while on 
duty, and 
additional training 
if carrying a rifle 
or carbine 

Must be currently 
employed as an 
EMT, advanced 
EMT, or 
paramedic and 
have completed 
an accredited 
educational 
training program 
in tactical 
emergency 
medicine 

N/A Education 
program sponsors 
for medical first 
responders 
approved by DPH 

N/A N/A 

Experience No No N/A No N/A N/A 

Exam No No N/A Yes N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

None specified None N/A Ongoing 
education 
requirements 

N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified None specified N/A No fee required N/A N/A 

License duration None specified None specified N/A Three years N/A N/A 

Renewal fee None specified None specified N/A No fee for timely 
renewal, but $50 
for renewal after 
license expires 

N/A N/A 
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Basic firearms training 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Basic Firearms Training9  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – OPOTC 
certification (R.C. 
109.79, 109.801, 
and 2923.126; 
O.A.C. 109:2-13-
01, 109:2-13-02, 
109:2-13-03, 
109:2-13-04, and 
109:2-13-05) 

Certification 
required as part 
of basic training 
for law 
enforcement (Ind. 
Code Ann. 5-2-1-
9(g); 250 Ind. 
Admin. Code 2-2-
1, 2-2-4; Indiana 
Law Enforcement 
Academy, Basic 
Training – Tier 1) 

Yes – 
marksmanship 
qualification for 
certified peace 
officers (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 15.383 
and 237.140; 503 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
1:180) 

Yes – certification 
by MCOLES of 
qualifying under 
the “active duty 
firearms 
standard” (no 
statute or rule 
was found for an 
occupation similar 
to Department of 
Youth Services 
employee 
authorized to 
carry a firearm) 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 28.221 and 
28.512; Mich. 

Yes (53 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. 2164 and 
2167; 37 Pa. Code 
203.11 and 
203.52) 

Yes – agency 
determines 
qualifications 
under standards 
set by LEPSS and 
rules  

Express mandates 
for approval or 
certification (by 
Commissioner of 
Corrections and 
Rehabilitation) to 
go armed for 
deputy sheriff 
reserves, 
corrections 

                                                      
9 For any peace officer, sheriff, chief of police of an organized police department of a municipal corporation or township, chief of police of a 
township police district or joint police district police force, Superintendent of the State Highway Patrol, State Highway Patrol trooper, chief of 
police of a university or college police department, parole or probation officer who carries a firearm in the course of official duties, multicounty, 
municipal-county, or multicounty-municipal correctional center corrections officer who carries a firearm in the course of official duties; House of 
Representatives Sergeant-at-Arms if the person has specified arrest authority, assistant House of Representatives Sergeant-at-Arms, Senate 
Sergeant-at-Arms, assistant Senate Sergeant-at-Arms, tactical medical professional, or employee of the Department of Youth Services designated 
pursuant to Ohio law as being authorized to carry a firearm while on duty. 
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Basic Firearms Training9  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Admin. Code R. 
791.702, 
18.14903, and 
18.14906; 
Michigan 
Commission on 
Law Enforcement 
Standards, 
MCOLES Active 
Duty Firearms 
Standard: 
Mandatory 
Reporting) 

officers, parole 
officers, retired 
officers, and 
probation officers 
(W. Va. Code R. 
149-2-10, 6-3-1, 
15A-3-10, 15A-7-
5, 30-29-12, 62-
12-6, and 7-14-1) 

Education or 
training 

Basic training 
required 

Basic training 
required 

Basic training 
required  

Basic training 
required 

Training required 
and must achieve 
minimum 
qualifying score of 
75% 

Training with 
officer’s primary 
duty weapon 
(generally, the 
officer’s 
handgun); must 
be separated by a 
minimum period 
of three months; 
and must satisfy 
minimum passing 
score set by LEPSS 

Express mandates 
for deputy sheriff 
reserves, retired 
officers, 
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Basic Firearms Training9  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

corrections 
officers, parole 
officers, and 
probation officers, 
under provisions 
described above 

Experience None specified None specified  None specified  None specified None specified None specified 

Exam None specified  None specified  None specified  None specified None specified None specified 

Continuing 
education 

Yes – 
requalification 
every year 

Two hours 
in-service training 
in firearms 
required every 
year 

Yes – 
marksmanship 
qualification 
required every 
year  

None specified Yes – annual 
qualification on a 
police firearms 
course with any 
firearms, shotguns, 
or rifles authorized 
for use, including 
personal weapons 
carried in lieu of 
issued weapons or 
as a second 
weapon 

Hours needed not 
specified, but 
minimum score 
set by LEPSS must 
be satisfied 

Frequency of 
reporting – semi-
annual, separated 
by at least three 
months 

Professional 
responsibility or 
ethics expressly 
required – no 

Initial licensure 
fee 

None specified None specified Possible fee of not 
more than $20  

Not readily 
attainable 

None specified Unclear if fee for 
licensee – but 
special $12 court 
cost and bond 
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Basic Firearms Training9  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

add-ons charged 
in criminal cases, 
money collected 
put in special 
state fund, and 
fund used for 
funding of law 
enforcement 
entry level 
training 
programs, 
professional 
development 
programs, and 
certification of 
law enforcement 
officers 

Retired officers 
may be charged a 
fee not to exceed 
$25 for one 
category of 
officers or $50 for 
another category  

License duration One year None specified One year One year One year Semiannual 
qualification 
required 
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Basic Firearms Training9  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee None specified None specified Possible fee of not 
more than $20 

None specified None specified None specified 

 

  


