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Companion animals  

As reported by some historians, the phrase “man’s best friend” is attributable to Frederick 
William II, King of Prussia, when, referring to one of his Italian Greyhounds, he stated: 

Legislators, interested parties, and concerned citizens have worked hard over the past 
few decades to protect companion animals (dogs, cats, or any animal kept inside a 
residential dwelling) in Ohio from violent abuse. Prior to 2003, an act of cruelty against 
a companion animal in Ohio resulted in a 2nd degree misdemeanor with a possible 
sentence of up to 90 days in jail and up to a $750 fine. Since then, the General Assembly 
has increased penalties for committing acts of cruelty against companion animals, such 
as torturing, needlessly killing, and depriving a companion animal of food and shelter. 
The legislature also has expanded the Companion Animal Abuse Law to include more 
prohibitions, giving prosecutors more discretion when dealing with offenders. 

This brief discusses Ohio’s prohibitions against and penalties for companion animal 
cruelty, beginning with an overview of the law’s evolution. 

https://www.lsc.ohio.gov/
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[T]he only, absolute and best friend that a man has, in this 
selfish world, the only one that will not betray or deny him, is his 
Dog.1  

For centuries, dogs, cats, and other domestic animals have enriched the lives of families 
across the world. However, there are those who hurt our best friends. Throughout the country, 
states have enacted legislation to protect companion animals (in Ohio, defined as a dog or cat 
regardless of where it is kept and any other animal that is kept inside a residential dwelling)2 and 
punish those who harm them.  

Evolution of Ohio’s companion animal protection laws 

2003: S.B. 221 of the 124th General Assembly 

Prior to 2003, Ohio law treated those who committed acts of cruelty against a companion 
animal the same as if the person committed an act of cruelty against any other type of animal. 
Cruelty against any animal was a 2nd degree misdemeanor. That meant that if a person knowingly 
tortured and killed their dog or cat, the person could be sentenced to a maximum of 90 days in 
jail and pay up to a $750 fine.3 However, in late 2002, the 124th General Assembly passed S.B. 221, 
which increased animal cruelty penalties if the animal involved is a companion animal. The law 
took effect in April 2003. 

2013: Nitro’s Law 

During the 130th General Assembly, the House passed H.B. 90, 
“Nitro’s Law.” The provisions of that bill subsequently were 
incorporated into H.B. 59 (the biennial budget act) and took effect on 
September 29, 2013. The law was named for Nitro, a Rottweiler whose 
care was entrusted to a training and boarding kennel owner in 
Youngstown in 2008. While at this facility, Nitro, along with eight other 
dogs, were starved to death. Eleven other dogs suffered from extreme 
starvation when found by authorities.4 The kennel owner was 
convicted of four violations of Ohio’s animal cruelty laws, all of which 
were misdemeanors, and was sentenced to a total of four months in 
jail. In the aftermath of this tragedy, Nitro’s owners began lobbying 
General Assembly members to increase penalties for dog kennel 
owners who commit acts of cruelty against companion animals. Nitro’s 

                                                      
1 See Wikipedia, “Man’s best friend,” available at en.wikipedia.org; PIJAC Canada, “How the dog became 
man’s best friend” (December 9, 2020), available at pijaccanada.com; and Gosbi, “History of the phrase 
‘The dog is the man’s best friend’” (July 30, 2017), available at gosbi.com. 
2 R.C. 959.131(A)(1). 
3 R.C. 2929.24(A)(2) and 2929.28(A)(2)(a)(ii). 
4 See Animal Welfare Institute, “Tragedy at Ohio Kennel Prompts Passage of ‘Nitro’s Law’” (Fall 2013), 
which is available by conducting a keyword search for “Nitro” on the Institute’s website, awionline.org. 
Image used by permission of Elizabeth Raab. 

 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Man%27s_best_friend
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page
https://pijaccanada.com/how-the-dog-became-mans-best-friend/
https://pijaccanada.com/how-the-dog-became-mans-best-friend/
https://pijaccanada.com/
https://gosbi.com/en/history-of-the-phrase-the-dog-is-the-mans-best-friend-2/
https://gosbi.com/en/history-of-the-phrase-the-dog-is-the-mans-best-friend-2/
https://gosbi.com/en/home-2/
https://awionline.org/awi-quarterly/2013-fall/tragedy-ohio-kennel-prompts-passage-%E2%80%9Cnitro%E2%80%99s-law%E2%80%9D
https://awionline.org/
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Law made knowingly committing certain acts of cruelty a 5th degree felony if committed by an 
owner, manager, or employee of a dog kennel. 

2016: Goddard’s Law 

The next major change occurred during the 131st General Assembly, when lawmakers 
enacted H.B. 60, “Goddard’s Law.” Effective September 16, 2016, Goddard’s Law gave 
prosecutors the choice, depending on the facts of the case, whether to charge a person accused 
of companion animal cruelty with either the already established 1st degree misdemeanor 
prohibition or a new 5th degree felony prohibition for causing “serious physical harm” to a 
companion animal. 

The act was named for Dick Goddard, a television meteorologist, author, cartoonist, and 
animal activist from Akron. 

While this legislation made causing serious physical harm to a companion animal a 
5th degree felony, it did not label it an offense of violence for sentencing purposes or exempt the 
crime from the law requiring courts to sentence offenders to a community control sanction in 
lieu of prison time for 4th and 5th degree felonies. Therefore, unless an offender meets certain 
criteria (e.g., repeat offender, etc.), the courts likely will sentence the offender to a community 
control sanction in lieu of prison time.5 

Animal cruelty law evolution – Timeline 

Here are some key takeaways from the legislation discussed above.  

 

                                                      
5 See R.C. 2929.13(B). 

2003: S.B. 221

Made knowingly committing an act of cruelty against a 
companion animal a 1st degree misdemeanor on the first 
offense and a 5th degree felony on each subsequent 
offense.            

2013: Nitro’s Law

Made knowingly committing certain acts of cruelty a 5th

degree felony if the acts were committed by an owner, 
manager, or employee of a dog kennel.

2016: Goddard’s Law

Made knowingly causing serious physical harm (including 
physical harm that carries an unnecessary or unjustifiable 
substantial risk of death) to a companion animal a 5th

degree felony. 
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Current law 

While some of the technical language for various offenses has been altered over the 
years, Ohio’s current law governing companion animal cruelty is a culmination of the 2003, 2013, 
and 2016 law changes. The following chart depicts all of Ohio’s current prohibitions and 
corresponding penalties for companion animal cruelty offenses:6 

 

Current Companion Animal Cruelty Offenses 

Actor Prohibition 
Mental 
State 

Penalty 

Resulting 
Jail/Prison 
Time and 

Fine 

Any person Causing serious physical harm to a companion 
animal, which is: 

1. Physical harm that carries an unnecessary 
or unjustifiable substantial risk of death; 

2. Physical harm that involves either partial 
or total permanent incapacity; 

3. Physical harm that involves acute pain of a 
duration that results in substantial 
suffering or that involves any degree of 
prolonged or intractable pain; or 

4. Physical harm that results from a person 
who confines or who is the custodian or 
caretaker of a companion animal 
depriving the companion animal of good, 
wholesome food and water that 
proximately causes the death of the 
companion animal. 

Knowingly 5th degree 
felony* 

Up to 12 
months in 
prison and up 
to a $2,500 
fine 

Any person Torturing, tormenting, needlessly mutilating or 
maiming, cruelly beating, poisoning, needlessly 
killing, or committing an act of cruelty against a 
companion animal. 

Knowingly 1st degree 
misdemeanor 
on the first 
offense and a 
5th degree 
felony on 
each 
subsequent 
offense* 

Up to 180 
days in jail 
and up to a 
$1,000 fine 
for a 1st 
degree 
misdemeanor 

Up to 12 
months in 

                                                      
6 For prohibitions, see R.C. 959.131. For penalties, see R.C. 959.99(E). For misdemeanor jail sentencing, 
see R.C. 2929.24(A). For misdemeanor fines, see R.C. 2929.28(A)(2)(a). For felony prison sentencing, see 
R.C. 2929.14(A)(5). For felony fines, see R.C. 2929.18(A)(3).  
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Current Companion Animal Cruelty Offenses 

Actor Prohibition 
Mental 
State 

Penalty 

Resulting 
Jail/Prison 
Time and 

Fine 

prison and up 
to a $2,500 
fine for a 5th 
degree felony 

A person 
who 
confines or 
who is the 
custodian or 
caretaker of 
a companion 
animal 
(“caretaker”) 

Torturing, tormenting, or committing an act of 
cruelty against the companion animal. 

Negligently 2nd degree 
misdemeanor 
on a first 
offense and a 
1st degree 
misdemeanor 
on each 
subsequent 
offense 

Up to 90 days 
in jail and up 
to a $750 fine 
for a 2nd 
degree 
misdemeanor 

Up to 180 
days in jail 
and up to a 
$1,000 fine 
for a 1st 
degree 
misdemeanor 

Caretaker Depriving the companion animal of necessary 
sustenance or confining the companion animal 
without supplying it during the confinement with 
sufficient quantities of good, wholesome food and 
water if it can reasonably be expected that the 
companion animal would become sick or suffer in 
any other way as a result of or due to the 
deprivation or confinement.  

Negligently 2nd degree 
misdemeanor 
on a first 
offense and a 
1st degree 
misdemeanor 
on each 
subsequent 
offense 

Up to 90 days 
in jail and up 
to a $750 fine 
for a 2nd 
degree 
misdemeanor 

Up to 180 
days in jail 
and up to a 
$1,000 fine 
for a 1st 
degree 
misdemeanor 

Caretaker Impounding or confining the companion animal 
without affording it, during the impoundment or 
confinement, with access to shelter from heat, 
cold, wind, rain, snow, or excessive direct sunlight 
if it can reasonably be expected that the 
companion animal would become sick or suffer in 

Negligently 2nd degree 
misdemeanor 
on a first 
offense and a 
1st degree 
misdemeanor 
on each 

Up to 90 days 
in jail and up 
to a $750 fine 
for a 2nd 
degree 
misdemeanor 
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Current Companion Animal Cruelty Offenses 

Actor Prohibition 
Mental 
State 

Penalty 

Resulting 
Jail/Prison 
Time and 

Fine 

any other way as a result of or due to the lack of 
adequate shelter. 

subsequent 
offense 

Up to 180 
days in jail 
and up to a 
$1,000 fine 
for a 1st 
degree 
misdemeanor 

Owner, 
manager, or 
employee of 
a dog kennel 
(“dog kennel 
employee”) 

Torturing, tormenting, needlessly mutilating or 
maiming, cruelly beating, poisoning, needlessly 
killing, or committing an act of cruelty against the 
companion animal. 

Knowingly 5th degree 
felony* 

Up to 12 
months in 
prison and up 
to a $2,500 
fine 

Dog kennel 
employee 

Depriving the companion animal of necessary 
sustenance or confining the companion animal 
without supplying it during the confinement with 
sufficient quantities of good, wholesome food and 
water if it is reasonably expected that the 
companion animal would die or experience 
unnecessary or unjustifiable pain or suffering as a 
result of the deprivation or confinement. 

Knowingly 5th degree 
felony* 

Up to 12 
months in 
prison and up 
to a $2,500 
fine 

Dog kennel 
employee 

Impounding or confining the companion animal 
without affording it, during the impoundment or 
confinement, with access to shelter from heat, 
cold, wind, rain, snow, or excessive direct sunlight 
if it is reasonably expected that the companion 
animal would die or experience unnecessary or 
unjustifiable pain or suffering as a result of or due 
to the lack of adequate shelter. 

Knowingly 5th degree 
felony* 

Up to 12 
months in 
prison and up 
to a $2,500 
fine 

Dog kennel 
employee 

Torturing, tormenting, needlessly mutilating or 
maiming, cruelly beating, poisoning, needlessly 
killing, or committing an act of cruelty against the 
companion animal. 

Negligently 1st degree 
misdemeanor 

Up to 180 
days in jail 
and up to a 
$1,000 fine 

Dog kennel 
employee 

Depriving the companion animal of necessary 
sustenance or confining the companion animal 
without supplying it during the confinement with 

Negligently 1st degree 
misdemeanor 

Up to 180 
days in jail 
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Current Companion Animal Cruelty Offenses 

Actor Prohibition 
Mental 
State 

Penalty 

Resulting 
Jail/Prison 
Time and 

Fine 

sufficient quantities of good, wholesome food and 
water if it is reasonably expected that the 
companion animal would die or experience 
unnecessary or unjustifiable pain or suffering as a 
result of the deprivation or confinement. 

and up to a 
$1,000 fine 

Dog kennel 
employee 

Impounding or confining the companion animal 
without affording it, during the impoundment or 
confinement, with access to shelter from heat, 
cold, wind, rain, snow, or excessive direct sunlight 
if it is reasonably expected that the companion 
animal would die or experience unnecessary or 
unjustifiable pain or suffering as a result of or due 
to the lack of adequate shelter. 

Negligently 1st degree 
misdemeanor 

Up to 180 
days in jail 
and up to a 
$1,000 fine 

*Note: regarding 5th degree companion animal cruelty felonies, there is a presumption against prison time. Therefore, generally, a court must sentence an 
offender to community control sanctions if (1) the offender did not have a prior felony at the time of the offense or a prior misdemeanor offense of violence 
within two years of the offense, and (2) the most serious charge against the offender at the time of sentencing is a 4th or 5th degree felony.7 

 

Additional penalties 

In addition to the felony or misdemeanor penalties described above, a court may order a 
person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a companion animal cruelty violation to forfeit to 
an impounding agency (i.e., county humane society) any or all of the companion animals in that 
person’s ownership or care. The court also may prohibit or place limitations on the person’s 
ability to own or care for any companion animals for a specified or indefinite period of time. 

If the court orders a violator’s companion animal or animals to be forfeited to an 
impounding agency, the court also may order the person to reimburse the agency for the 
agency’s reasonable and necessary costs for the animal’s care. 

If a court has reason to believe that a person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to an 
animal cruelty violation suffers from a mental or emotional disorder that contributed to the 
violation, the court may impose as a community control sanction or as a condition of probation 
a requirement that the offender undergo psychological evaluation or counseling.8 

Exemptions 

Ohio law exempts the following from the law governing companion animal cruelty: 

                                                      
7 R.C. 2929.13(B)(1)(a). 
8 R.C. 959.99(E)(6) and (7). 
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 A companion animal used in scientific research conducted by an institution in accordance 
with the federal Animal Welfare Act and related regulations; 

 The lawful practice of veterinary medicine by a person who has a license, temporary 
permit, or registration certificate to do so under Ohio law; 

 Dogs being used or intended for use for hunting or field trial purposes, provided that the 
dogs are being treated in accordance with usual and commonly accepted practices for the 
care of hunting dogs; 

 The use of common training devices, if the companion animal is being treated in 
accordance with usual and commonly accepted practices for training animals; and 

 Administering medicine to a companion animal that was properly prescribed by a person 
who has a license, temporary permit, or registration certificate under Ohio Veternarian 
Law.9 

                                                      
9 R.C. 959.131(G). 


