About Us

The Legislative Service Commission (LSC) is a nonpartisan agency providing the Ohio General Assembly with drafting, research, budget and fiscal analysis, training, and other services. LSC was created in 1953, primarily to conduct studies of legislative issues during the interim periods between legislative sessions. Other duties were added over the years.

LSC's governing authority consists of 14 members of the General Assembly, including the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President of the Senate. The Speaker and the President each appoint six additional members, with no more than four of the appointed members from each chamber belonging to the same political party. The members select a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson, who serve for two years. The two positions customarily rotate between the Speaker and the President.

The 14-member governing authority appoints a director who, in turn, hires additional professional and support staff as may be required. LSC staff members include attorneys, budget analysts, economists, research associates, and support personnel. See the LSC Brochure for additional information on the agency.